PDA

View Full Version : which types of canister filters do you all prefer?

orb
12/15/2006, 05:31 AM
i'm setting up a SH tank, and i think i'll want to run a canister filter to either put carbon or filter floss in. i think i'm going to run it off a manifold, so a supply pump won't be needed, and i'll also have a sump where it will be mounted. it's return will dump back into the sump.

does anyone currently run a system like this?

do all the canister filters already come with a pump, or can i buy one without? i've never used one before.

thanks for any help, lawrence

Poniegirl
12/15/2006, 07:06 AM
I have used a Magnum 350 on my 55 gallon for almost 3 years and I really like it. Very self-contained and no fussing necessary!
The pump is built into the base.

This fall I decided to quit using the sleeve media in it. I got really tired of rinsing so many pods down the drain! I have chaeto in it now. It seems to still be doing great, however now I can rinse (shake) the chaeto in a bucket and salvage a number of pod. To me, every one counts.

orb
12/15/2006, 07:28 AM
do you know if there's any magnums or fulvals that don't need the pump? i know what you mean about the pods. every month i throw away half a 5 gal bucket's worth in the garbage. i try rinsing the chaeto but never find that many pods in the water-i'm sure thousands are being tossed :( just seems wrong-considering what people pay to get pods in a bag. is there a light or clear top on your canister to let the chaeto grow in the magnum 350? thanks for the reply, lawrence

Poniegirl
12/15/2006, 02:34 PM
The canister itself is removable from the base where the motor is housed, so it might work for your purpose.
The entire canister is clear, so it gets ambient light. I worried that it would not be enough light, but I will soon need to take some of it out, so I know it's growing.

pledosophy
12/15/2006, 11:05 PM