PDA

View Full Version : LightHouse Controller - why only one temperature controller


reefkeeper1
12/20/2006, 03:50 PM
I was setting up the LightHouse Controller as a replacement for my Aqualogic dual temperature controller when I noticed that you can control a heater OR chiller, not a heater AND chiller like the Aqualogic. Is there a design reason why there's only a single temperature controller on the LightHouse? Is it possible to add another temperature controller to the unit?

Last night, I also set up the pH probe and Web access to the Lighthouse. I asked my wife about how dual calibration (4.0 and 10.0 calibration fluids) was more accurate than single calibration (7.0), and she said she would sometimes perform a triple calibration in the lab. The Web access was very easy to set up by setting up an open IP address via the control panel and then looking at the data on the LightHouse via my notebook.

reefkeeper1
12/20/2006, 07:23 PM
I just found the answer to my question on the LightHouse FAQ (http://www.mcuresearch.com/faq.html):

Can the Lighthouse support BOTH a chiller and a heater at the same time?

There is only one outlet for use by heater or chiller, so technically only one or the other can be used at the same time. However, by using the "Daylight Cutoff" feature you can plug a heater into the Daylight outlet and have the heater controlled by the cutoff temperature, while simultaneously using a chiller plugged into the heater/chiller outlet. This would allow both heater and chiller control at the same time. The disadvantage to this is that you lose the Daylight outlet for use by lighting.

Jeremy B.
12/21/2006, 08:52 AM
You got it! :)