Reef Central Online Community

Reef Central Online Community (http://www.reefcentral.com/forums/index.php)
-   Lighting, Filtration & Other Equipment (http://www.reefcentral.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=212)
-   -   LUX vs PAR? (http://www.reefcentral.com/forums/showthread.php?t=2152049)

chuckdallas 03/30/2012 07:49 AM

LUX vs PAR?

I'm an Electrical Engineer (by schooling) but fly planes for the Air Force and American Airlines, so I can't spell PAR vs. LUX.

Back in the first 6 months of my newbie-ness, I bought a Milwaukee Lux meter on a Black Friday special thinking I was getting a PAR meter for a really good deal. I know you can't convert LUX to PAR, but can I measure my lights and then use it to compare with the lights at the Local Fish Stores to see if my lights are stronger or weaker?

USC-fan 03/30/2012 07:54 AM

You need par.

chuckdallas 03/30/2012 09:59 AM

Thanks "USC-fan". I understand I SHOULD have bought a PAR meter. Just wondering from the crowd if I measure the LUX of the MHs at the LFS and then measure my LEDs if I can use that as a relative gauge, even though LUX doesn't mix with PAR.

gbru316 03/30/2012 10:59 AM

i believe so, but i'm not 100% sure.

a little FYI, you can purchase the PAR sensor from Apogee and attach it to any multimeter, and multiply the voltage reading by 5 to get PAR in umol/m.

This will save you about $200 vs buying the PAR meter/sensor combo

alton 03/30/2012 12:07 PM