Reef Central Online Community

Reef Central Online Community (http://www.reefcentral.com/forums/index.php)
-   The Reef Chemistry Forum (http://www.reefcentral.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=112)
-   -   Wonky Parameters (http://www.reefcentral.com/forums/showthread.php?t=2657907)

SaltmanBasssa 11/11/2017 06:39 PM

Wonky Parameters

Guys -

Some wonky parameters I am trying to figure out.

Tank: red sea reefer 450 (92 gal), Radion XR30w, Reef Octopus Regal 150-int,
Sal: 1.0245 (32.5 - Apex)
Temp: 77.8 (Apex)
PHOS: 0 - API kit
Nitrate: 0 -API kit
Calc:450 -Red Sea
PH: 8.18 (Apex probe)

Here we go: Alk - 9.5-9.8, Mag: 1800! Yes, 1800! (both RED SEA kit)

I've been running the tank for about 10 months, have seen SPS very healthy (mushrooms, leathers), any LPS - bubble, open brain, have all suffered greatly. Also, no healthy Coraline algae growth (desired) at all.

TONS of "pineapple" sponges in the sump!

Using AquaForest Sea Salt, however, not performing regular water changes (only occasional)- RODI

Would love some help and recommendations -

THANKS!

hegeh 11/11/2017 07:02 PM

Nutrient too low for lps since you said its suffered. Coralline algae is nuisance but its nice to have on rocks only. Overall its good imo.. let mg down by its self and wc. Happy sps happy reefer [emoji23]

Sent from my SM-G930F using Tapatalk

hegeh 11/11/2017 07:04 PM

"I've been running the tank for about 10 months, have seen SPS very healthy (mushrooms, leathers)"

These are not sps.. [emoji848]

Sent from my SM-G930F using Tapatalk

bertoni 11/12/2017 04:23 PM

I might consider some water changes with a lower-magnesium salt product, but those levels are fine as is. Is there any coralline in the tank at all? You might need to seed the tank with a variety that will grow with the lighting that you have. I had issues with that when I upgraded lighting on a small tank.

SaltmanBasssa 11/12/2017 08:38 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by SaltmanBasssa (Post 25270970)
Guys -