Reef Central Online Community

Reef Central Online Community (http://www.reefcentral.com/forums/index.php)
-   Reef Discussion (http://www.reefcentral.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=1)
-   -   Mike's 140 Cubish Build (http://www.reefcentral.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1312082)

miwoodar 02/04/2008 10:08 PM

Mike's 140 Cubish Build

Greetings Folks,

Thanks for all of the great advice and ideas over the last couple of years. Build threads have been a big part of my learning experience and I would like to give back to the community by documenting an upgrade from my current 65 to my DIY 140. I would also like to get your advice on some structural concerns in my house, some wood working Q's, an electrical run, and who knows what else (hopefully it won't be cleaning up a big mess!).

If you don't know me already, I'm kind of a geek. I am an environmental engineer for a company that specializes in groundwater remediation. Yes, we get paid to carbon dose the ground. No, I don't carbon dose my tank at this time but I might if I ever need to. These days I manage the costing tool set we use for large proposals. Sounds fun, eh?

If you're still reading you might be saying 'SHUT-UP ALREADY' but before I do, I need to throw a specific thanks to a few folks (please pardon mistakes, this is by memory):

Acrylics, Chatatoullie, H20 Eng, and Melev: Thanks for the recent acrylic advice in the DIY Acrylic Tank thread. I hope to test the tank before the end of the week!

Anyone who's documented their steel stand: You know who you are, and I've read your thread.

Anyone who has a 36"x36" cube: Crazy4Acros, you have a killer tank. Mike (don't remember your screen name at this time), you do too.

Donw: Thanks for a slew of awesome DIY projects and the recent advice on wood choices. We decided on cherry.