Reef Central Online Community

Reef Central Online Community (http://www.reefcentral.com/forums/index.php)
-   Mantis Shrimp (http://www.reefcentral.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=37)
-   -   Should I be concerned about overfeeding? (http://www.reefcentral.com/forums/showthread.php?t=2622176)

CrypticCorn 02/01/2017 05:14 PM

Should I be concerned about overfeeding?

Sorry if this is a stupid question, I'm new to the whole thing. Is there a risk of bloating or obesity if I feed my mantis too much? He's very small, maybe 3cm. I've had him a couple weeks now and typically offer him a large thawed mysis shrimp in the morning that's almost as big as he is. He usually takes it very excitedly. Sometimes I offer him another later, which he doesn't frequently take. I'm not concerned bioload wise because I never leave uneaten food in there but should I be concerned about his health? I know he probably doesn't need to eat that much but I really want him to like me as pathetic as that sounds

Also jury's still out on what type he is, so if anyone wants to weigh in who didn't before I attached a pic https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/201...9498b34f4f.png

Hadla 02/01/2017 10:21 PM

You should only feed once a day, I feed my chiragra once every other day

nmotz 02/02/2017 11:07 AM

No risk of overeating, but water quality may become an issue. Some mantis shrimp have been known to bury uneaten food and that will create water chemistry issues for certain. As far as your mantis "liking" you, he'll eventually warm up to the idea that you are the provider of meals. But that bond can't be short-circuited by feeding more often. Don't worry, mantis shrimp are smart and will figure out pretty soon that you are their own personal chef. Just give it some time.