Reef Central Online Community

Reef Central Online Community (http://www.reefcentral.com/forums/index.php)
-   Do It Yourself (http://www.reefcentral.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=3)
-   -   Dry fitting PVC (http://www.reefcentral.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1897538)

scbrooks87 08/26/2010 05:01 PM

Dry fitting PVC

Ok so every time I try to do any dry fitting for my PVC stuff, it really like to get stuck... It will stick into place and is all but impossible to pull back apart... I am a plumbing noob, and dont know the tricks of the trade yet.

Suggestions on how to get the PVC to just work easier? lol.

Once it's dry fit, I plan to just mark it in place to put it back together easer with the glue.

Its all slip fittings

Thanks!
-Scott

rwb500 08/26/2010 05:19 PM

i wouldnt put anything on it, especially vaseline, because unless you clean it off really well it might interfere with the gluing process.

honestly, i would just avoid dry fitting unless its very necessary. pvc pipe likes to get stuck.

scbrooks87 08/26/2010 05:37 PM

I need to dry fit just so I know it's all gonna match up when I do the final fitting, I dont wanna SW it all together and have it not fit lol.

So it is just a pain and that just kinda how it goes?

reefermad619 08/26/2010 05:49 PM

Pretty much. You have to muscle it. I know some people put water based lube on it to dry fit. Like ky jelly. It wipes off really easy.

billdogg 08/26/2010 05:49 PM

don't clean the parts first, and don't push them together any harder than you must.

milkman55 08/26/2010 05:53 PM

Just measure the depth of the slip fitting and allow for the extra length when you cut. No need to dry fit. Write it down if working with fractions is a challenge. Most the 1" PVC has a 1" socket depth which makes it easier. Once you add the PVC cement, the pipe will go easily to the bottom of the fitting with very little pressure, just a slight twist.

Qwiv 08/26/2010 06:13 PM