Reef Central Online Community

Reef Central Online Community (http://www.reefcentral.com/forums/index.php)
-   New to the Hobby (http://www.reefcentral.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=104)
-   -   Questions from a first-timer.. (http://www.reefcentral.com/forums/showthread.php?t=2663403)

MikeyLegs 01/04/2018 02:10 PM

Questions from a first-timer..

1 Attachment(s)
Hello everyone! Let me start off by saying that this is my first saltwater tank and I'm blown away by the close-knit community here at RC. Being a newbie, I have some questions I was hoping you guys could help me with. For starters:

Tank:
Biocube 32
25 lbs of dry rock
2lb live rock
30 lbs of fiji pink/cushed coral live sand
Tunze ATO
Tunze Skimmer
Jebao Wavemaker
Intank Media Tray with filter floss
Sachem Matrix

Livestock:
1 Ocellaris clownfish
1 Black Snowflake clownfish
1 Pajama Cardinal
1 Firefish
Watchman Goby paired with Snapping Shrimp
1 Peppermint Shrimp
1 Fire Shrimp
1 Tuxedo Urchin
8 Blue Leg Hermits
4 Nassarius Snails
2 Mexican Turbo Snails
4 Bumblebee Snails
1 Brittle Sea Star
10 coral frags (2 hammers, torch, bubble, green start polyp, goniopora, duncan, starburst, colony polyp, acropora)

I ran a 45 day fishless cycle using Dr Tim's Ammonium Chloride before introducing any livestock. Water params had been consistent throughout the process. I've slowly introduced the livestock listed above over the course of the past two weeks.

Current water params:

77.5 degrees
1.023 salinity
0 ammonia
0 nitrite
10 nitrate
8.4 pH
9-10 alkalinity
360-380 calcium

My plan was to start using Kalkwasser in my ATO so I started dosing alkalinity and calcium, which seems to be driving my pH towards the high end of the acceptable range.

Questions:

1. Should I do a partial water change to get my pH down before continuing to dose alk and calcium?

2. Should I have my protein skimmer running 24/7?