Reef Central Online Community

Reef Central Online Community (http://www.reefcentral.com/forums/index.php)
-   The Fish Breeding Forum (http://www.reefcentral.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=86)
-   -   Baby True Perculas My First Fry Tank (http://www.reefcentral.com/forums/showthread.php?t=2163085)

saltyjo 04/26/2012 08:56 PM

Baby True Perculas My First Fry Tank

Tonight thanks to the help of some fellow reefers, I have a clutch of about 50 or so True Percula babies.:celeb3::celeb3:
This is my very first attempt at raising the fry. I have been doing tons of research since Thanksgiving when my clownfish I have had since April of 2007 started to spawn on a regular basis (every 10 days like clockwork between 5 and 7 pm).
I never thought I would get to this point as my male clown realized only on the last clutch that he was supposed to care for the eggs, and not make a snack of them. I watched the uneaten half of the clutch last time develop and hatch into the display tank. I was not ready at all. So I began growing Nanochloropis and Rotifers to prepare my self for the hatch. My laundry room looks like some kind of crazy lab. I only hope I can get them through the next couple of days.
I intend to post pictures tomorow. Good nite little clowns.

saltyjo 04/27/2012 06:04 AM

Checking on my new babies, I have the lights that I have diffused with bubble wrap turned on. Added strained rotifers to to the larvae tank and watched for a while. If I didn't know before I know now why they call them clownfish. : ) They were striking at just about everything in the water to include each other on occasion. How funny. The water temp is a perfect 80 degrees and they seemed to be doing well. I did notice 2 losses. :( Part of the process I guess. I also observed a bunch of little shrimp like guys swimming backwards. They have dark eyes and pink middles. They are just a little smaller than the clownfish fry.

saltyjo 04/28/2012 06:42 AM

Not as many