Reef Central Online Community

Reef Central Online Community (http://www.reefcentral.com/forums/index.php)
-   The Fish Breeding Forum (http://www.reefcentral.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=86)
-   -   Rearing Bangaii Cardinal Fry in a Breeder box (http://www.reefcentral.com/forums/showthread.php?t=2663907)

Sailfinner 01/09/2018 04:17 PM

Rearing Bangaii Cardinal Fry in a Breeder box

Hello, I'm new to Reef Central and I have a question, can I raise Bangaii Cardinal fry in Marina Large hang on breeder box, or is there a better box I could use. All info is greatly appreciated

kizanne 01/15/2018 01:17 PM

The problem isn't the hang on. It's feeding the babies. They'll eat newly hatched artemia and I'd throw in some copepods for nutrition. If you lined the holes where the artemia couldn't escape then it is doable (I think). I removed mine to their own 1 gallon container but then you have to worry about ammonia as a hang on you wouldn't have that problem. A fake urchin and a light can help keep the fish and food in the same place.

Be aware though the heavy feeding for the babies does create ammonia. I like to use greenwater for keep the brine enriched. Obviously in the take your couldn't do green water.

Sailfinner 01/18/2018 12:30 PM

Thanks for the reply, I was thinking about stopping the pump while I feed and then start it back up again after they finish.

Sailfinner 01/18/2018 12:34 PM

I will have brine constantly hatching so the fry always have newly hatched to eat. Would enriching the brine with selcon be an option as well?

kizanne 01/18/2018 03:09 PM

You say when feeding but the babies need to eat all day. At least I believe so based on my limited experience and reading. Welcome enrichment is doable and advisable. Remember bb don't eat the first few hours. I do know mine managed bb that were a day or two old after a week or so. I didn't try it earlier than that.

socalireefdood 01/19/2018 01:37 AM