Reef Central Online Community

Reef Central Online Community (http://www.reefcentral.com/forums/index.php)
-   New to the Hobby (http://www.reefcentral.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=104)
-   -   phosphate reactor media (http://www.reefcentral.com/forums/showthread.php?t=2657540)

newby30gallon 11/08/2017 05:17 AM

phosphate reactor media

this is my first time using ferris oxcide to control phosphates, is it common to see trace discoloration in a filter sock due to it. also, if some is leaking into the water is this a cause for concern for live stock or corals?

anything else to know about the phosban reactor?

thanks

mcgyvr 11/08/2017 05:27 AM

First.. Do you have a phosphate problem?
If so what is your current phosphate level?
I personally do not recommend GFO for "newbies" (or anyone really unless specifically needed) and only recommend it for those with a phosphate problem that they can't solve via other methods.. I think there are very few if any reasons to run GFO and in my 15+ years have never needed it..
GFO is quite powerful and can actually do harm if you don't need it by stripping to water of phosphates.. Phosphates as well as nitrates are "nutrients" and are needed by all marine life.. Just like fertilizer is needed for your grass.. Too much and you burn the grass.. Too little and it doesn't grow green/strong..

but..

If the media is breaking apart then you are likely running too much flow in the reactor and should close the valve some to slow the flow.. Or you just didn't rinse it.. It needs to be rinsed prior to use to remove any dust caused by shipping/handling vibration,etc...

LeJeune981 11/08/2017 05:56 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by mcgyvr (Post 25267104)
I personally do not recommend GFO for "newbies" (or anyone really unless specifically needed) and only recommend it for those with a phosphate problem that they can't solve via other methods.. I think there are very few if any reasons to run GFO and in my 15+ years have never needed it..