Reef Central Online Community

Reef Central Online Community (http://www.reefcentral.com/forums/index.php)
-   The Reef Chemistry Forum (http://www.reefcentral.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=112)
-   -   Conflicting dKH tests (http://www.reefcentral.com/forums/showthread.php?t=2661970)

flawedexistence 12/21/2017 08:52 AM

Conflicting dKH tests

Newbie here! I have a 75 gal display tank with dry rock, a 33 gallon trigger sump with .25lb Chaeto in the refuge section. Simplicity skimmer running during current cycle. The tank is nearing the end of it's first cycle with nitrite level at 0.1. I have been using Red Sea and Salifert test kits. parameters are as follows:

dKH=9-10 Red Sea test kit
Mg=1400 Red Sea test kit
Ca=425 Red Sea test kit

After running the Red Sea dKH test a few times, I wanted to try an easier testing method so I bought a Hanna Checker. Ran the test twice and got dKH readings of 6.7 and 6.8. Any thoughts on why the big difference in readings and what to do about it?:headwalls:

Rover88 12/21/2017 08:58 AM

Watch a youtube video on how to do each test. I was doing red sea tests in a way that wasn't entirely accurate.

Also, with the Hannah Checker did you hold the button for the second vial to give it the three minute countdown?

mcgyvr 12/21/2017 09:11 AM

What salt mix are you using?

Are you sure you are using/reading the syringe properly?.. you go by the plunger (bottom of the cylinder) and not the fluid level when reading it..
So the plunger may be at 1.0mL but the fluid only a .8mL.. you have 1mL of liquid and not .8mL

But yes.. try the videos to ensure you are doing it right and also post the salt mix you are using... They all state their "as freshly mixed" values so you should be able to compare to that too..

RobZilla04 12/21/2017 10:20 AM