Reef Central Online Community

Reef Central Online Community (http://www.reefcentral.com/forums/index.php)
-   Greater Connecticut Area Regional Forum (http://www.reefcentral.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=186)
-   -   Having NO luck with fish.. (http://www.reefcentral.com/forums/showthread.php?t=2177482)

SteelerMike 06/04/2012 10:14 AM

Having NO luck with fish..

Well, I added 3 new fish to my tank a week and half ago (royal gramma, six line wrasse and a yellow tang) and 2 died in 2 days and the third one (the tang) now has ich :headwally:
I'm pretty sure I caused the trouble as I panicked last week when I thought my salinity had shot to 1.030 and topped of 5 gallons of fresh ro water only to realize my refractometer was off and dropped my salinity to 1.021, plus didn't realize I needed to put marine buffer in fresh ro water so made a big swing in my ph as well. Total newb mistake but I am pretty disheartened.
Now I am torn about wehether I should try to catch the tang and put him in a hsopital tank and treat him or see if he fights through it. He is eating well and still active. I also have a bicolor blenny in the tank who seems fine. Any advice?
On a positive note, the corals are all doing well.

laxb0rder 06/04/2012 10:21 AM

Im new at this also but from what I've read so far if your tang has ich your probably going to want to take him out of your display tank to somewhere you can watch him and control the ich keeping it out of your tank. And with the salinity issue it probably would have been better to add the fresh water slowly then all at once even if the salinity had been high. However Im not speaking from experience just from what i have gathered from reading on here and other places.

Im sure someone with more experience will chime in. (And thats probably just about everyone here)

SteelerMike 06/04/2012 10:43 AM