Reef Central Online Community

Reef Central Online Community (http://www.reefcentral.com/forums/index.php)
-   The Reef Chemistry Forum (http://www.reefcentral.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=112)
-   -   API Saltwater Master Test Kit color cards (http://www.reefcentral.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1401175)

wdytat 05/29/2008 03:55 PM

API Saltwater Master Test Kit color cards

First off. Hi! I've been lurking for a few months and finally dove in and purchased a BioCube 29. So I'm on my way.

As a long time freshwater tank keeper, I have an API Freshwater Master Test Kit. However, I'm trying to avoid buying the saltwater kit since it is exactly the same thing. It just has different color cards. Could someone scan the cards for the saltwater kit and send them my way (after confirming the colors are a close match)? Or any ideas on how to obtain these cards?

I found a site with some scans (here), but the colors for the freshwater kit are off, so I assume the saltwater cards are off too.

Thanks!

jansenwrasse 05/29/2008 04:10 PM

Not all of the test kits are the same for freshwater and saltwater. I would look into which API test kits are the same.

Also check expiration dates on the kits.

unbreakable 05/29/2008 05:16 PM

ah thats awesome. ive been cycling my new tank based on what i remembered about the chars (i lost them). i just remembered that for ammonia it was 0 when yellow, nitrite was 0 when light blue-- the link helps a lot now

wdytat 05/29/2008 07:07 PM

It's the API Freshwater Master Kit - checks PH, High Range PH, Nitrite, Nitrate, Ammonia. It's the same as the API Saltwater Master Kit, but the saltwater kit has different color cards and doesn't contain the PH check (just the High Range PH). The chemical make up is exactly the same as noted by the spec sheets on the API site.

My freshwater kit is brand new. That's the reason I don't want to go buy a saltwater kit. And I'm tired of winging it.