Reef Central Online Community
Live Aquaria

Home Forum Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences View New Posts View Today's Posts

Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Search Reefkeeping ...an online magazine for marine aquarists Support our sponsors and mention Reef Central

Go Back   Reef Central Online Community > Special Interest Group (SIG) Forums > Nano Reefs
Register Blogs FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read

Notices

Reply
Thread Tools
Old 05/06/2012, 04:55 AM   #1
reefp
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: America
Posts: 26
Smile red sea 34 gallon?

i'll be moving in a few months and i am scraping this tank and giving the remaining livestock to my lfs, when i am at my new home i will purchase a red sea max 34 gallon reef aquarium. does this tank require a sump or something because i see that the filtration system is really good on the website and the lights are also good. also, how many pounds of live rock would i need for this tank? and how long do have to wait for it to cycle? when i am done cycle can directly add corals? i am repeating these questions because i really messed up on my first reef tank because i just followed my own steps and the advice the fish store gave me. and what's the best salt mix that you recommend? and what's the best fish/coral store in the bay area?


reefp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05/06/2012, 09:42 AM   #2
brad burditt
Registered Member
 
brad burditt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: roscommon mi
Posts: 146
A lot of people do sumps but then a lot of people don't myself I don't but I did change the skimmer to the tunze 9002 and added the intank cup on it along with the media basket as well


brad burditt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05/24/2012, 10:53 AM   #3
Flosscadub
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 20
I have a RSM 34 just got it a week ago. When to the store to test my water and it was all good. I'm a beginner. I already have a damsel in the tank. I was told if I add a refugium I can put more fish. Is that true? I wanted to drill into the back and add a refugium. What are anyone's thoughts?


Flosscadub is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
beginner, confusedcon coral, hard, reef

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:59 AM.


TapaTalk Enabled

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Use of this web site is subject to the terms and conditions described in the user agreement.
Reef CentralTM Reef Central, LLC. Copyright 1999-2014