Reef Central Online Community

Home Forum Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences View New Posts View Today's Posts

Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Search Reefkeeping ...an online magazine for marine aquarists Support our sponsors and mention Reef Central

Go Back   Reef Central Online Community > Sponsor Forums > SpectraPure
Register Blogs FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read

Notices

Reply
Thread Tools
Old 08/05/2011, 08:39 PM   #1
krzyphsygy
Registered Member
 
krzyphsygy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 2,059
MaxCap RO/DI

I have this system and have a few questions please.

I used it a very little amount of time and bought it brand new. Porbably used it 10 times or so. I moved and took the unit down but I did not remove any of the water from the canisters and they are about 20% full, not really alot of water.
Its been 3 years since I operated it and it has been stored in my closet at room temp.
I would like to get it going again and would like some help in what I need to do.

Do I need new filter cartridges? They are pretty new
Should I empty the and test it?

Not really sure what to do. Please help. It is an awesome unit that is pretty much brand new.
If it would be easier to speak on the phone, please pm me and I will call you.


Thank you


krzyphsygy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08/06/2011, 09:42 AM   #2
SpectraPure
RC Sponsor
 
SpectraPure's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 3,702
Fire it up and see what the meters report after running for a couple of hours. Let me know all four meter readings and your pressure.

Scott
SpectraPure, Inc.


SpectraPure is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08/06/2011, 04:58 PM   #3
krzyphsygy
Registered Member
 
krzyphsygy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 2,059
Thanks Scott, sounds simple. I will get it up this weekend and post when I get it together.


krzyphsygy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08/08/2011, 01:09 PM   #4
krzyphsygy
Registered Member
 
krzyphsygy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 2,059
Quote:
Originally Posted by SpectraPure View Post
Fire it up and see what the meters report after running for a couple of hours. Let me know all four meter readings and your pressure.

Scott
SpectraPure, Inc.
Alright Scott, the system has been running for about 20 minutes and the left meter ( OUT ) reads 8 and the Right Meter (IN) reads Zero. Pressure is at 60psi. After it ran for about 20 minutes I tested the ratio and the yellow line was at 600 and the blue was at 250 if you divide them together I got 2.4 so does that mean I need to adjust the flow restrictor or should I let the system run longer to determine that?

Thoughts on everything?


krzyphsygy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08/08/2011, 03:05 PM   #5
SpectraPure
RC Sponsor
 
SpectraPure's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 3,702
If your pressure is 60psi, then the pre-filters are good. If you have 8 coming out of the RO membrane, then the memebrane is good. If the Right meter(IN) is zero, then the MaxCap DI is good. IF the right meter (OUT) is zero, then the SilicaBuster is good.

Follow the directions in the manual and shorten the flow restrictor until you get about 4:1.

Scott
SpectraPure, Inc.


SpectraPure is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08/08/2011, 03:58 PM   #6
krzyphsygy
Registered Member
 
krzyphsygy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 2,059
Quote:
Originally Posted by SpectraPure View Post
If your pressure is 60psi, then the pre-filters are good. If you have 8 coming out of the RO membrane, then the memebrane is good. If the Right meter(IN) is zero, then the MaxCap DI is good. IF the right meter (OUT) is zero, then the SilicaBuster is good.

Follow the directions in the manual and shorten the flow restrictor until you get about 4:1.

Scott
SpectraPure, Inc.
Scott, you wrote if the right meter (IN) is Zero and If the Right Meter (OUT) is zero, i did not know you could test it that way? The instructions say Left (OUT) and right (IN). So your saying move the right monitor to out and in to check levels??


krzyphsygy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08/08/2011, 04:12 PM   #7
SpectraPure
RC Sponsor
 
SpectraPure's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 3,702
from the manual found here:
http://www.spectrapure.com/manuals/P...CAP_MANUAL.pdf

Checking the max cap Procedure:
1. When the reading on the right-hand TDS meter (set to “IN”) displays 75%
of the reading on the left-hand TDS meter (set to “OUT”), it is time to
replace the MAXCAP DI ™ cartridge.
2. Follow the directions on page 5 to rinse up the MAXCAP DI ™
cartridge.
3. Make sure the DI cartridge is installed in the correct direction as marked
on the cartridge shell and be sure that the top seal is securely attached to
the top of the cartridge.
4. Tighten the cartridge housing by rotating it clockwise and hand tighten.
5. Turn on system and check for leaks.

chekcing the silica buster:
1. When the reading on the right-hand TDS meter (set to “OUT”) displays
“001”, it is time to replace the SilicaBuster ™ DI cartridge.
2. Follow the directions on page 5 to rinse up the SilicaBuster ™ DI cartridge.
3. Make sure the DI cartridge is installed in the correct direction as marked
on the cartridge shell and be sure that the top seal is securely attached to
the top of the cartridge.
4. Tighten the cartridge housing by rotating it clockwise and hand tighten.
5. Turn on system and check for leaks.
the membrane check:
Turn the left meter on by depressing the “ON” switch then locate
the slide switch on the front of the meter.
A. Measure the tap water conductivity by sliding the switch to
the Left “IN”. (Call it X)
B. Measure RO water conductivity by sliding the switch to the
Right “OUT”. (Call it Y).
C. Subtract RO water conductivity from tap water conductivity.
(X - Y)
D. Divide this quantity by tap water conductivity. (X - Y) X
E. Rejection = [(X - Y) X ] 100
* Conductivity in the above procedure could be caused by hardness,
alkalinity, nitrate, phosphate, silica etc.

Hope this helps
bruce


SpectraPure is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08/08/2011, 04:17 PM   #8
SpectraPure
RC Sponsor
 
SpectraPure's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 3,702
Also, see page 14 for using the Left Meter and page 19 for using the Right Meter.

Scott
SpectraPure, Inc.


SpectraPure is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08/08/2011, 07:34 PM   #9
krzyphsygy
Registered Member
 
krzyphsygy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 2,059
i am a little confused on cutting the flow restrictor, if my product is comming out at 250 ml a minute, the table says to cut the restrictor to 1.5 inches in total length. That is a lot i will be cutting off. Am I reading this correctly?


krzyphsygy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08/08/2011, 07:53 PM   #10
SpectraPure
RC Sponsor
 
SpectraPure's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 3,702
You are reading it correctly. But, cut it a couple of inches longer and see if the ratio is close to but a little less than 4:1.

Scott
SpectraPure, Inc.


SpectraPure is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08/10/2011, 07:25 PM   #11
krzyphsygy
Registered Member
 
krzyphsygy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 2,059
Ok, so I took your advice and cut it to about 3.5 inches instead of 1.5 inches and the yellow line filled to 837 ml and the blue to 250 ml, divide them together and I got 3.348. Should i cut alittle more?


krzyphsygy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08/10/2011, 08:18 PM   #12
SpectraPure
RC Sponsor
 
SpectraPure's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 3,702
I'd call it good. In the winter, the production will slow down and the ratio will go up to 4:1 or a little more.

Scott
SpectraPure, Inc.


SpectraPure is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08/10/2011, 09:34 PM   #13
krzyphsygy
Registered Member
 
krzyphsygy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 2,059
Sweet, thanks!


krzyphsygy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08/16/2011, 01:31 PM   #14
SpectraPure
RC Sponsor
 
SpectraPure's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 3,702
enjoy!


SpectraPure is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05/06/2012, 10:39 AM   #15
krzyphsygy
Registered Member
 
krzyphsygy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 2,059
Hey Scott, My pressure gage is reading 50psi, does this mean we are still in good shape.


krzyphsygy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05/06/2012, 12:24 PM   #16
krzyphsygy
Registered Member
 
krzyphsygy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 2,059
Hey Scott, I think I just read the answer to my question. As long as its not below 40psi or over 80 we are in good shape. Thanks


krzyphsygy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
BRS RO/DI vs The Filter Guys vs Filter Direct???? Bigjav Lighting, Filtration & Other Equipment 56 01/21/2012 10:04 AM
ro/di questions/problems Arthur1 Lighting, Filtration & Other Equipment 8 10/08/2009 05:27 PM
RO/DI unit blcketnies11 New to the Hobby 7 11/02/2008 01:46 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:43 AM.


TapaTalk Enabled

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Use of this web site is subject to the terms and conditions described in the user agreement.
Reef CentralTM Reef Central, LLC. Copyright 1999-2014