Reef Central Online Community

Home Forum Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences View New Posts View Today's Posts

Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Search Reefkeeping ...an online magazine for marine aquarists Support our sponsors and mention Reef Central

Go Back   Reef Central Online Community > Sponsor Forums > Neptune Systems
Register Blogs FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read

Notices

Reply
Thread Tools
Old 05/04/2012, 07:47 AM   #1
travis32
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: West Fargo, ND
Posts: 2,069
Programming: ATO Empty notification

Hello, I want to program an outlet on my apex to do the following.

I'm going to place a set of float switches in my top off bucket at the bottom. I'm going to plug the switches into an outlet on my apex. When the water is empty in the top off bucket I want the apex to detect that the switch is changed status and email me that the top off bucket is about empty.

Anyone have a suggestion how I would do that. Would the Apex detect if the switch is open or closed based on the switch plug in being in the outlet or would I have to have something plugged into the switches to show a power draw?

Thoughts?

I have a spare set of float switches from autotopoff.com I want to use for this.

Thanks,


__________________
230G Aquavim Piano Wave Tank - 75 gallon basement sump. Hard plumbed from upper level to basement. All ran by multilevel Apex. Reef LED Solarblast Lights.

Current Tank Info: 230g Build in process.
travis32 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05/04/2012, 07:50 AM   #2
RussM
Recovering Reefaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: El Cajon, CA
Posts: 7,674
What EXACTLY do you have from autotopoff.com? Just plain float switches, or one of their ATO controllers?


RussM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05/04/2012, 09:50 AM   #3
aquamanic
WHO DAT??
 
aquamanic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Baton Rouge, LA
Posts: 5,608
You should read/study the chapter in the User Guide on switches and the breakout box. Floats and any other type of continuity switch don't get connected to outlets. They terminate into a breakout box of some kind which in turn is connected to a special jack on the controller or one of the expansion modules.


__________________
I don't work for Neptune. Please put all questions into forum posts and not PM's.
Visit the Neptune Community Forums for the latest Neptune updates - forum.neptunesystems.com
aquamanic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05/04/2012, 10:09 AM   #4
travis32
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: West Fargo, ND
Posts: 2,069
Just the basic float switches. Not the ATO controller. I had been told I could use basic float switches to signal when some thing is empty or full. I wasn't sure how this was done through electricity... Maybe it's not?


travis32 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05/04/2012, 10:47 AM   #5
Mpfaff77
Registered Member
 
Mpfaff77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 372
You need the Neptune breakout box. That will detect your float switches. Upto 6 for each breakout box.

Ato_Jug(virtual outlet)
If switch1 closed then on
Defer 1:00 then on
If switch1 open then off

Sump_low ( virtual)
If switch2 closed then on
Defer 1:00 then on
If switch2 open then off

Ato_Pump
Fallback off
Set off
If outlet Ato_jug = on then off
If sump_low = on then on
Defer 20:00 then on

Email alert
If outlet Ato_jug = on then on

That should Do it.


Mpfaff77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05/04/2012, 11:47 AM   #6
Mpfaff77
Registered Member
 
Mpfaff77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 372
You need the Neptune breakout box. That will detect your float switches. Upto 6 for each breakout box.

Ato_Jug(virtual outlet)
If switch1 closed then on
Defer 1:00 then on
If switch1 open then off

Sump_low ( virtual)
If switch2 closed then on
Defer 1:00 then on
If switch2 open then off

Ato_Pump
Fallback off
Set off
If outlet Ato_jug = on then off
If sump_low = on then on
Defer 20:00 then on

Email alert
If outlet Ato_jug = on then on

That should Do it.


Mpfaff77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05/04/2012, 01:59 PM   #7
aquamanic
WHO DAT??
 
aquamanic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Baton Rouge, LA
Posts: 5,608
The float switches are just normal "dry" contact switches. They complete a circuit when closed and break the circuit when open. There's no voltage flowing through those wires - the system just detects continuity (or the lack of).

Because of this you can use not only float switches but a doorbell, magnetic window/door alarm switches, water sensors that are dry contact...just about anything that's normally open or closed (NO/NC). There's lots of applications for these type switches and they all will work on the controller.


__________________
I don't work for Neptune. Please put all questions into forum posts and not PM's.
Visit the Neptune Community Forums for the latest Neptune updates - forum.neptunesystems.com
aquamanic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05/08/2012, 09:26 AM   #8
travis32
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: West Fargo, ND
Posts: 2,069
Thanks Alan. So, Alan, you're saying a break out box is not needed. If the switch is on, the Netptune outlet detects that the switch is making contact?


travis32 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05/08/2012, 09:31 AM   #9
aquamanic
WHO DAT??
 
aquamanic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Baton Rouge, LA
Posts: 5,608
No, you need the BoB or something similar DIY'd. Reason is you have up to 12 little wires coming from various switches, floats, whatever. Getting all of those back to the controller with little connectors and jacks would make the controller three times larger than it is. To get around that problem, the BoB was invented and works kind of like a consolidator of these wires. Those 12 wires (6 switches x 2 wires each) terminate in the BoB and in turn, one wire comes in from the BoB to the controller. Plus, this gives you the option to put the BoB (cheap) inside your stand with all that humidity and water and keep the controller (expensive) outside and far away. That's all the BoB does.


__________________
I don't work for Neptune. Please put all questions into forum posts and not PM's.
Visit the Neptune Community Forums for the latest Neptune updates - forum.neptunesystems.com
aquamanic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05/08/2012, 03:03 PM   #10
Mpfaff77
Registered Member
 
Mpfaff77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 372
Breakout box is nice and tidy. 40 bucks on aquacave. Well worth it. Here it is with 5 floats connected. I used thermostat wires To extend float switch wires

ImageUploadedByTapatalk1336510999.909754.jpg


Mpfaff77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05/11/2012, 09:12 AM   #11
travis32
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: West Fargo, ND
Posts: 2,069
Thanks guys. This makes more sense now to me.


travis32 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05/11/2012, 10:35 AM   #12
RussM
Recovering Reefaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: El Cajon, CA
Posts: 7,674
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mpfaff77 View Post
Thanks for posting that pic... a number of people have asked to see what the redesigned BoB looks like, but no one had posted a pic. Neptune's web site still shows the old model.


RussM is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:24 AM.


TapaTalk Enabled

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Use of this web site is subject to the terms and conditions described in the user agreement.
Reef CentralTM Reef Central, LLC. Copyright 1999-2014