Reef Central Online Community

Home Forum Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences View New Posts View Today's Posts

Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Search Reefkeeping ...an online magazine for marine aquarists Support our sponsors and mention Reef Central

Go Back   Reef Central Online Community > General Interest Forums > Do It Yourself
Register Blogs FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read

Notices

Reply
Thread Tools
Old 11/24/2013, 09:10 PM   #1201
asid61
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Cupertino, CA
Posts: 1,113
Quote:
Originally Posted by normski View Post
i am looking for one of these to control the lunar cycle on my rgb led strip drivers,
will this build work on led strips and does anyone have a pre built one or a link to a pre built i could purchase.
if not i have the typhon manual but was just looking at running the led strips
The led strips have drivers already? If the driver is PWM compatible, the Typhon will work fine.


asid61 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11/25/2013, 12:43 AM   #1202
normski
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 8
here are the led drivers i have at present. i will try to find out if they are pwm compatable
can i get the typhon as a unit with program from anywhere if these drivers are ok

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/44-Key-IR-...item1c3178c15c


normski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11/25/2013, 02:47 AM   #1203
Tek
Mr. Vu
 
Tek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Yukon, Oklahoma
Posts: 1,619
Hooked up my supplemental royal blues using a Typhon controller today. It is so much easier to program and more flexible than my ALC for the Reefkeeper. I wish I had heard about it before I spent 80.00 for the ALC controller that can only operate 2 channels and has a weird way of setting fade times.


Tek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11/26/2013, 03:20 AM   #1204
normski
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 8
i do not know if my drivers are pwm compatible i do know they have common anode
will this run with a typhon if so where can i get one, can you pm me if you have one for sale.
i think worst case is i need to look at new drivers or even new led set.
but need to get my hands on a typhon first.


normski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11/26/2013, 07:50 AM   #1205
slobodan
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 45
Does anyone know if this PWM chip TLC59711 can provide PWM for dimming Meanwell 1000H LDD?


slobodan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11/26/2013, 08:20 AM   #1206
iced98lx
.
 
iced98lx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 2,110
Quote:
Originally Posted by slobodan View Post
Does anyone know if this PWM chip TLC59711 can provide PWM for dimming Meanwell 1000H LDD?
haven't tested, but looked at it should without a problem.

http://www.adafruit.com/products/1455 seems to be a breakout board with that chip.

I use http://www.adafruit.com/products/815#Description with a little less resolution but more outputs (and free running, which I didn't see on your chip-in-question) which is really handy.


iced98lx is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11/26/2013, 08:27 AM   #1207
slobodan
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 45
Thank you iced98lx!
Anything specific you had to configure to make it work?
Does it matter that this chip has open-drain outputs?
How do you have registers configured??
Sorry for so many questions. .


slobodan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11/26/2013, 08:28 AM   #1208
slobodan
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 45
I think I read somewhere that it's free running as well.
Adafruit is exactly what am I looking into getting. .


slobodan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11/26/2013, 08:34 AM   #1209
iced98lx
.
 
iced98lx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 2,110
the one I got uses i2c and was very easy to get up and going, didn't take long at all.

One thing to note, I seem to remember that the pwm resolution on the LDD's isn't very high, possibly not worth going to 16bit.. Maybe someone else has some info on that I'm at work and don't have a datasheet handy


iced98lx is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11/26/2013, 09:03 AM   #1210
slobodan
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 45
Hmm, I don't seem to be able to find pwm resolution of LDD..
Data sheet doesn't mention anything about it.


slobodan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11/26/2013, 12:10 PM   #1211
Tek
Mr. Vu
 
Tek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Yukon, Oklahoma
Posts: 1,619
Any suggestions for a project box and buttons?


Tek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01/11/2014, 01:34 AM   #1212
normski
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 8
finally got my RGB strips running off the arduino mega 2560 although i only have a freshwater aquarium i liked the idea of the typhon reef software,
at present i have the LED strips running but am now adding my wave make on to the arduino.
if anyone is interested here is the info.
Build
Build2
Light phase

I have set each color it's own channel, i can control when each color starts and how bright it gets
I would never have been able to do this without the help of this thread


normski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01/13/2014, 03:20 PM   #1213
shark boy
Registered Member
 
shark boy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 118
I'm interested in taking an arduino mega and making a type ][ Typhon. What I mean is I would like to use 8 dimming channels and add temp, could use a 20x4 display or better. What would it take besides a RTC, 20x4 LCD and 4 buttons with 10k resistors?
Plus code of course. I've looked at the original code and I'm not sure about the I2C clock.
I've built one and love it for what it is, unfortunately I need more PWM channels.

I'ld like to hear from anyone that is interested in making something like this.

I'm building an AquaPorn controller as well. Great build, very cool

sb


shark boy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01/13/2014, 05:24 PM   #1214
O2Surplus
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: "The Land of Fruits & Nuts"
Posts: 879
Quote:
Originally Posted by shark boy View Post
I'm interested in taking an arduino mega and making a type ][ Typhon. What I mean is I would like to use 8 dimming channels and add temp, could use a 20x4 display or better. What would it take besides a RTC, 20x4 LCD and 4 buttons with 10k resistors?
Plus code of course. I've looked at the original code and I'm not sure about the I2C clock.
I've built one and love it for what it is, unfortunately I need more PWM channels.

I'ld like to hear from anyone that is interested in making something like this.

I'm building an AquaPorn controller as well. Great build, very cool

sb
If you are talking about building it from an existing "Mega Arduino"using shields and such, that shouldn't be too much trouble. But if you're saying that you want to redesign the original "Typhon" to use the Mega's 2560 chip, then you're in for quite an undertaking. The Mega2560 chip would be a royal pain to solder, but not impossible. Trouble is- the time spent to design the PcB, hunt down and order the components, build the completed unit, and write the software, It would still only provide you with up to14 pwm channels and 8bit dimming performance. The StormX controller has 16 channels and 12bit dimming with "no assembly required" .LOL


O2Surplus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01/13/2014, 06:42 PM   #1215
zachts
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: St. Louis, MO.
Posts: 3,266
A cobbled together version of the StormX would be a possibility but it's so tiny I'd just buy one, not to dissuade you from DIY as It is very, very, addictive, but.....

You could probably also expand your existing typhon board using a few parts following the StormX controller model. It is I2C based and allows up to 16 pwm channels, plus all sorts of other possibilities with programing the spare pins.


zachts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01/14/2014, 05:55 AM   #1216
shark boy
Registered Member
 
shark boy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 118
Quote:
Originally Posted by O2Surplus View Post
If you are talking about building it from an existing "Mega Arduino"using shields and such, that shouldn't be too much trouble. But if you're saying that you want to redesign the original "Typhon" to use the Mega's 2560 chip, then you're in for quite an undertaking. The Mega2560 chip would be a royal pain to solder, but not impossible. Trouble is- the time spent to design the PcB, hunt down and order the components, build the completed unit, and write the software, It would still only provide you with up to14 pwm channels and 8bit dimming performance. The StormX controller has 16 channels and 12bit dimming with "no assembly required" .LOL
I was just thinking of throwing together a mega and some shields. Nothing too complicated. I'm thinking the programming would be the hard part. At least for me.


shark boy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01/14/2014, 06:04 AM   #1217
shark boy
Registered Member
 
shark boy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 118
Quote:
Originally Posted by zachts View Post
A cobbled together version of the StormX would be a possibility but it's so tiny I'd just buy one, not to dissuade you from DIY as It is very, very, addictive, but.....

You could probably also expand your existing typhon board using a few parts following the StormX controller model. It is I2C based and allows up to 16 pwm channels, plus all sorts of other possibilities with programing the spare pins.
I will look that up and see what I can do with that. My thoughts was I would most likely run out of program memory before I got what I wanted.

I still have a homemade I2C shield for my Typhon that allowed me to use all 6 PWM pins. I ran my 20x4 LCD off it with temp. My problem with that was if I enabled all 6 channels the lcd would flicker. If I just did five led channels then it was stable. I ended up going back to the original. One extra channel wasn't enough to make it worth my while.


shark boy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01/24/2014, 02:11 PM   #1218
shark boy
Registered Member
 
shark boy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 118
Anyone look at the Typhon_B sketch? I've been using it since Oct. 2011.
I posted the zip in post 778. I got it some where and liked it.

Anyway I was trying to modify it to have 8 channels instead of 4 and come across the fact that it has temp built in. Anyone ever get it working? O2 just reposted it a couple posts back.
It would be great if someone that can do a little programming could get the temp to work.

I have loaded a Mega2560 with this code and was trying to get it to display 8 channels. Thought it would be easy to fix. I can get the code in but I can only get 4 channels to come up to select the start/stop times ect. Anyone got suggestions?
sb


shark boy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01/25/2014, 08:29 AM   #1219
wgraham
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 292
somewhere in this thread there is code for 6 channels and you could follow how he did it and add 2 more


wgraham is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01/26/2014, 12:08 PM   #1220
normski
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 8
i took mine from 4 channel to 5 channel and do not see whey you can not just add more channels and state pins on the mega 2560, the 4 line lcd would give space to put the information on the display
here is the 5 channel


to get 5 channels i just added to these lines
Code:
// LED variables. These control the behavior of lighting. Change these to customize behavoir
int minCounter = 0;         // counter that resets at midnight.
int oldMinCounter = 0;      // counter that resets at midnight.
int oneLed = 44;             // pin for channel 1
int twoLed = 45;            // pin for channel 2
int threeLed = 46;          // pin for channel 3
int fourLed = 47;            // pin for channel 4
int fiveLed = 48;            // pin for channel 5

int oneVal = 0;             // current value for channel 1
int twoVal = 0;             // current value for channel 2
int threeVal = 0;           // current value for channel 3
int fourVal = 0;            // current value for channel 4
int fiveVal = 0;            // current value for channel 5
Code:
EEPROMVar fiveStartMins = 480;
EEPROMVar fivePhotoPeriod = 510;  
EEPROMVar fiveMax = 100;          
EEPROMVar fiveFadeDuration = 00;
Code:
//check & set fade durations
  if(oneFadeDuration > onePhotoPeriod/2 && onePhotoPeriod >0){oneFadeDuration = onePhotoPeriod/2;}
  if(oneFadeDuration<1){oneFadeDuration=1;}
  
  if(twoFadeDuration > twoPhotoPeriod/2 && twoPhotoPeriod >0){twoFadeDuration = twoPhotoPeriod/2;} 
  if(twoFadeDuration<1){twoFadeDuration=1;}
  
  if(threeFadeDuration > threePhotoPeriod/2 && threePhotoPeriod >0){threeFadeDuration = threePhotoPeriod/2;}
  if(threeFadeDuration<1){threeFadeDuration=1;}
  
  if(fourFadeDuration > fourPhotoPeriod/2 && fourPhotoPeriod > 0){fourFadeDuration = fourPhotoPeriod/2;}
  if(fourFadeDuration<1){fourFadeDuration=1;}
  
  if(fiveFadeDuration > fivePhotoPeriod/2 && fivePhotoPeriod > 0){fiveFadeDuration = fivePhotoPeriod/2;}
  if(fiveFadeDuration<1){fiveFadeDuration=1;}
  //check & set any time functions
  
  
  //set outputs
  if(!override){
  oneVal = setLed(minCounter, oneLed, oneStartMins, onePhotoPeriod, oneFadeDuration, oneMax);
  twoVal = setLed(minCounter, twoLed, twoStartMins, twoPhotoPeriod, twoFadeDuration, twoMax);
  threeVal = setLed(minCounter, threeLed, threeStartMins, threePhotoPeriod, threeFadeDuration, threeMax);
  fourVal = setLed(minCounter, fourLed, fourStartMins, fourPhotoPeriod, fourFadeDuration, fourMax);
  fiveVal = setLed(minCounter, fiveLed, fiveStartMins, fivePhotoPeriod, fiveFadeDuration, fiveMax);
  }
  else{
    ovrSetAll(overpercent);
  }
REMEMBER to add menu cout to what you want
so on / off would be 2 menus
on/off/fade would be 3 and so on
where i added a 5th menu group it took it to 25 menu count



Code:
  //iterate through the menus
  if(menu.uniquePress()){
    analogWrite(bkl,bklOn);
    bklTime = millis();
    if(menuCount < 25){
      menuCount++;
    }else {
      menuCount = 1;
Code:
  printHMS(hour, minute, second);
    lcd.setCursor(0,1);
    lcd.print(oneVal);
    lcd.setCursor(4,1);
    lcd.print(twoVal);
    lcd.setCursor(8,1);
    lcd.print(threeVal);
    lcd.setCursor(12,1);
    lcd.print(fourVal);
     lcd.setCursor(12,0);
    lcd.print(fiveVal);

Then you just put in the menu what you want.
my channel 5 switches a relay to bring on wave maker twice a day.
Code:
if(menuCount == 19){
    //set start time for channel five
    lcd.setCursor(0,0);
    lcd.print("Channel 5 Start");
    lcd.setCursor(0,1);
    printMins(fiveStartMins, true);
    if(plus.uniquePress() && fiveStartMins < 1440){
        fiveStartMins++;
        if(fivePhotoPeriod >0){fourPhotoPeriod--;}
        else{fivePhotoPeriod=1439;}
      bklTime = millis();
    }
    if(minus.uniquePress() && fiveStartMins > 0){
        fiveStartMins--;
        if(fivePhotoPeriod<1439){fivePhotoPeriod++;}
        else{fivePhotoPeriod=0;}
      bklTime = millis();
    }
  }


  if(menuCount == 20){
    //set end time for channel five
    lcd.setCursor(0,0);
    lcd.print("Channel 5 End");
    lcd.setCursor(0,1);
    printMins(fiveStartMins+fivePhotoPeriod, true);
    if(plus.uniquePress()){
      if(fivePhotoPeriod < 1439){
      fivePhotoPeriod++;}
      else{
        fivePhotoPeriod=0;
      }
      bklTime = millis();
    }
    if(minus.uniquePress()){
      if(fivePhotoPeriod >0){
        fivePhotoPeriod--;}
      else{
        fivePhotoPeriod=1439;
      }
      bklTime = millis();
    }
  }



  if(menuCount == 21){
   //set start time for channel five
    lcd.setCursor(0,0);
    lcd.print("Channel 5 Start");
    lcd.setCursor(0,1);
    printMins(fiveStartMins, true);
    if(plus.uniquePress() && fiveStartMins < 1440){
        fiveStartMins++;
        if(fivePhotoPeriod >0){fourPhotoPeriod--;}
        else{fivePhotoPeriod=1439;}
      bklTime = millis();
    }
    if(minus.uniquePress() && fiveStartMins > 0){
        fiveStartMins--;
        if(fivePhotoPeriod<1439){fivePhotoPeriod++;}
        else{fivePhotoPeriod=0;}
      bklTime = millis();
    } 
  }

 if(menuCount == 22){
    //set end time for channel five
    lcd.setCursor(0,0);
    lcd.print("Channel 5 End");
    lcd.setCursor(0,1);
    printMins(fiveStartMins+fivePhotoPeriod, true);
    if(plus.uniquePress()){
      if(fivePhotoPeriod < 1439){
      fivePhotoPeriod++;}
      else{
        fivePhotoPeriod=0;
      }
      bklTime = millis();
    }
    if(minus.uniquePress()){
      if(fivePhotoPeriod >0){
        fivePhotoPeriod--;}
      else{
        fivePhotoPeriod=1439;
      }
      bklTime = millis();
    }
  }

  if(menuCount == 23){
    //set intensity for channel five
    lcd.setCursor(0,0);
    lcd.print("Channel 5 Max");
    lcd.setCursor(1,1);
    lcd.print(fiveMax);
    if(plus.uniquePress() && fiveMax < 100){
      lcd.clear();
      fiveMax++;
      bklTime = millis();
    }
    if(minus.uniquePress() && fiveMax > 0){
      lcd.clear();
      fiveMax--;
      bklTime = millis();
    }
  }
failing that you could go posh and build a
[HTML=https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gN4XQHNijxw]Jarduino[/HTML]0){
fivePhotoPeriod--;}
else{
fivePhotoPeriod=1439;
}
bklTime = millis();
}
}

if(menuCount == 23){
//set intensity for channel five
lcd.setCursor(0,0);
lcd.print(


normski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01/26/2014, 12:14 PM   #1221
normski
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 8
Jarduino here

If you just want to build the typhon reef code and libraries are here download the libraries and just copy the code from the page and paste it in to arduino 1.05 or higher
Code Here



Last edited by normski; 01/26/2014 at 12:19 PM.
normski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01/28/2014, 06:11 AM   #1222
shark boy
Registered Member
 
shark boy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 118
Quote:
Originally Posted by shark boy View Post
Anyone look at the Typhon_B sketch? it has temp built in. Anyone ever get it working? O2 just reposted it a couple posts back.
It would be great if someone that can do a little programming could get the temp to work.

sb
Anyone looking at this?

As far as the 6 channel Typhon. Spuzzum posted it with an I2c lcd screen. I built the I2c interface and used five channels on it. The sixth channel made my Typhon flicker. Since then I have went back and taken the I2c out of the program and have 6 channels working but I can't get more channels to work. I'll try something else .
Thanks for the suggestions.

sb


shark boy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02/07/2014, 06:25 AM   #1223
shark boy
Registered Member
 
shark boy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 118
Looks like no one has done anything with this sketch other then running it like it sits.


Does anyone have a sketch they would like to show off. Think yours is better than this one?
Please post it if you do. I'm sure everyone here would change sketches if there was a better one available.


shark boy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02/07/2014, 12:12 PM   #1224
O2Surplus
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: "The Land of Fruits & Nuts"
Posts: 879
Quote:
Originally Posted by shark boy View Post
Looks like no one has done anything with this sketch other then running it like it sits.


Does anyone have a sketch they would like to show off. Think yours is better than this one?
Please post it if you do. I'm sure everyone here would change sketches if there was a better one available.
SharkBoy-

Post up which digital pins you're planning to use on your MEGA & I'll take a whack at the Typhon "B" code and see if I can make it work for you. Let me know what size LCD you're planning to use, I'll need to modify the code if you're using a 20 x 4.


O2Surplus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02/10/2014, 05:52 AM   #1225
shark boy
Registered Member
 
shark boy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 118
Quote:
Originally Posted by O2Surplus View Post
SharkBoy-

Post up which digital pins you're planning to use on your MEGA & I'll take a whack at the Typhon "B" code and see if I can make it work for you. Let me know what size LCD you're planning to use, I'll need to modify the code if you're using a 20 x 4.
O2,
I'm gonna use 6-13. It doesn't really matter which pins, I can change the code.
I've gotten some things to work but over all the things not stable. I will be using a 20x4 display. Have you looked at the temp part of the code? I posted that sketch myself a long time ago and never realized it had temp untill you reposted it for me.
Any help would be really appreciated. The Typhon is a heck of a usefull led controller and has much more to offer if someone knew how to do the coding.
thanks
sb


shark boy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cheap Moonlight ticklesworth New to the Hobby 3 04/04/2010 04:09 PM
Cheap Moonlight ticklesworth Do It Yourself 0 04/03/2010 08:52 AM
Arduino base controller - power pack ONLY TODAY MaLi Do It Yourself 0 03/07/2010 04:56 AM
Sumps 101: Cheap, simple and effective for small tanks cody6766 Central Oklahoma Marine Aquarium Society 8 01/06/2009 09:57 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:58 PM.


TapaTalk Enabled

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2017 Axivo Inc.
Use of this web site is subject to the terms and conditions described in the user agreement.
Reef CentralTM Reef Central, LLC. Copyright 1999-2014