Reef Central Online Community

Home Forum Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences View New Posts View Today's Posts

Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Search Reefkeeping ...an online magazine for marine aquarists Support our sponsors and mention Reef Central

Go Back   Reef Central Online Community > Sponsor Forums > Royal Exclusiv / Bubble King
Register Blogs FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read

Notices

Reply
Thread Tools
Old 04/30/2017, 12:50 PM   #1
Darrell Brady
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 77
speedy 230 watt

need a dimension from the center of out put to the end of the input. cant seem to find it anywhere.

Thanks ,Darrell


Darrell Brady is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04/30/2017, 02:28 PM   #2
slief
RC Sponsor

 
slief's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Simi Valley, Ca
Posts: 12,325
It's 4" from the center of the output to the front of the union bushing that the PVC pipe connects to. The bushing is about 1.2" deep.



__________________
Director Customer Support Royal Exclusiv USA
For All Royal Exclusiv & Bubble King questions please refer to our Sponsor forum: http://www.reefcentral.com/forums/fo...play.php?f=745

Current Tank Info: 480G display mixed reef, 90G sump, 90G refugium, 60G display refugium. Check out my build thread: http://www.reefcentral.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1783476
slief is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04/30/2017, 05:40 PM   #3
Darrell Brady
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 77
I only have 41/2 inches clearance could that union be token off and add a flat strainer


Darrell Brady is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04/30/2017, 11:07 PM   #4
slief
RC Sponsor

 
slief's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Simi Valley, Ca
Posts: 12,325
Quote:
Originally Posted by Darrell Brady View Post
I only have 41/2 inches clearance could that union be token off and add a flat strainer
If you are running it internally, remove the union and don't even bother with a strainer unless you feel you really need one because of critters in your sump. You will save almost 2". I don't run strainers on any of my pumps though my closed loop does have one to prevent fish and snails from getting sucked into the intake. I have an RD3 80 on one of my tanks internally with no strainer and my RD3 230 has no strainer on the intake where the bulkhead plumbs into my refugium.


__________________
Director Customer Support Royal Exclusiv USA
For All Royal Exclusiv & Bubble King questions please refer to our Sponsor forum: http://www.reefcentral.com/forums/fo...play.php?f=745

Current Tank Info: 480G display mixed reef, 90G sump, 90G refugium, 60G display refugium. Check out my build thread: http://www.reefcentral.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1783476
slief is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04/30/2017, 11:10 PM   #5
ReefClownMIA
RC Sponsor
 
ReefClownMIA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Fort Myers, FL
Posts: 308
If you require additional clearance, you could even remove the entire unction fitting, by carefully removing it from the pump head. Then if crafty you could make a strainer if needed ..


__________________
Marco
Royal Exclusiv USA - Fort Myers, FL Operations
For All Royal Exclusiv / Bubble King questions please refer to our Sponsor forum: http://reefcentral.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=745

Current Tank Info: RS Reefer 450
ReefClownMIA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04/30/2017, 11:23 PM   #6
slief
RC Sponsor

 
slief's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Simi Valley, Ca
Posts: 12,325
Quote:
Originally Posted by ReefClownMIA View Post
If you require additional clearance, you could even remove the entire unction fitting, by carefully removing it from the pump head. Then if crafty you could make a strainer if needed ..
What Marco is trying to say is that the the male threaded part that the union threads onto actually threads into the pump cover/volute. It's essentially a double male fitting. You could in theory remove the entire male fitting and be left with the flat face of the pump cover with a big threaded hole in the center. If you were to remove the male threaded part from the pump face, you would be looking at about 1" (I think) from the center of the output to the face of the pump. I would however recommend leaving that in because intake fitting is cnc machined or optimal flow into the pump and the thread on the intake (if intake is unthreaded from the volute) may cause cavitation and would certainly be more likely to suck air in from the waters surface. If you just remove the union from the face of the pump, you will be left with about 3" from the center of the output to the face of the intake.

For reference, this is what the volute looks like with the male fitting unthreaded from the face of the pump. Again, I would suggest leaving the male part that the union threads onto in the pump because it's machined to improve the pumps performance. Removing the union itself will save plenty of space and won't hamper performance.





__________________
Director Customer Support Royal Exclusiv USA
For All Royal Exclusiv & Bubble King questions please refer to our Sponsor forum: http://www.reefcentral.com/forums/fo...play.php?f=745

Current Tank Info: 480G display mixed reef, 90G sump, 90G refugium, 60G display refugium. Check out my build thread: http://www.reefcentral.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1783476

Last edited by slief; 04/30/2017 at 11:29 PM.
slief is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05/02/2017, 11:09 AM   #7
Darrell Brady
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 77
I believed I have dicided I will just go ahead an re plump everything and use one of the flat strainers. that said which pump should I use it will feed 225 tank 50 sump 40 refugium along with 3 reactors I'm leaning towards the 230 but wandering if the 150 would be enough. also like the thought I can control it with the ghl.


Darrell Brady is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05/02/2017, 11:12 AM   #8
Darrell Brady
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 77
thanks for all the insight


Darrell Brady is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05/02/2017, 01:11 PM   #9
slief
RC Sponsor

 
slief's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Simi Valley, Ca
Posts: 12,325
Quote:
Originally Posted by Darrell Brady View Post
I believed I have dicided I will just go ahead an re plump everything and use one of the flat strainers. that said which pump should I use it will feed 225 tank 50 sump 40 refugium along with 3 reactors I'm leaning towards the 230 but wandering if the 150 would be enough. also like the thought I can control it with the ghl.
You could go either way but if your head pressure is low, the 230 will be overkill. I run a 230 for my return. It feeds my 480g display, 2 media reactors, a 60 gallon display fuge, a 40 gallon frag tank and does it all at 150 watts. The RD3 150 uses the same motor but has a different volute and impeller as well as a smaller power supply in the controller. Both are great pumps and I am sure the 150 would be plenty powerful. On the flip side, the cost delta between the two is minimal so you would in theory be running the 230 at a lower percentage relative to it's overall power.


__________________
Director Customer Support Royal Exclusiv USA
For All Royal Exclusiv & Bubble King questions please refer to our Sponsor forum: http://www.reefcentral.com/forums/fo...play.php?f=745

Current Tank Info: 480G display mixed reef, 90G sump, 90G refugium, 60G display refugium. Check out my build thread: http://www.reefcentral.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1783476
slief is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09/16/2017, 08:35 PM   #10
swannking
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 345
How come the outlet on my 230W is on the other side? I drilled my new sump to accommodate the configuration which is the opposite of my old reeflo or most other pump for that matter.


swannking is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09/16/2017, 08:55 PM   #11
slief
RC Sponsor

 
slief's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Simi Valley, Ca
Posts: 12,325
Quote:
Originally Posted by swannking View Post
How come the outlet on my 230W is on the other side? I drilled my new sump to accommodate the configuration which is the opposite of my old reeflo or most other pump for that matter.
I had Reeflo pumps to which my RD3's replaced. I am pretty sure it has to do with the direction the pumps impeller rotates.


__________________
Director Customer Support Royal Exclusiv USA
For All Royal Exclusiv & Bubble King questions please refer to our Sponsor forum: http://www.reefcentral.com/forums/fo...play.php?f=745

Current Tank Info: 480G display mixed reef, 90G sump, 90G refugium, 60G display refugium. Check out my build thread: http://www.reefcentral.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1783476
slief is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09/16/2017, 09:15 PM   #12
swannking
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 345
So if I need to replace my pump with a new one, is that an option since the new pumps on the website have the different configuration than mine. If not, I will have to change the plumbing again.


swannking is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09/16/2017, 09:26 PM   #13
slief
RC Sponsor

 
slief's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Simi Valley, Ca
Posts: 12,325
Quote:
Originally Posted by swannking View Post
So if I need to replace my pump with a new one, is that an option since the new pumps on the website have the different configuration than mine. If not, I will have to change the plumbing again.
All RD3's have the output on the left side of the volute when viewed from the front of the pump. Not sure what you are seeing that is different than yours. Your output is on the left just like those on the website. If you are seeing something different than me, please post a link because I just went though the website and verified the images show the output on the left side.

Here is a picture I took when I got my RD3 230's a few years ago.I took this for comparison as I had a Superdart Gold and Hammerhead Gold on my system at the time.. The output hasn't changed and isn't going to change anytime soon.





__________________
Director Customer Support Royal Exclusiv USA
For All Royal Exclusiv & Bubble King questions please refer to our Sponsor forum: http://www.reefcentral.com/forums/fo...play.php?f=745

Current Tank Info: 480G display mixed reef, 90G sump, 90G refugium, 60G display refugium. Check out my build thread: http://www.reefcentral.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1783476

Last edited by slief; 09/16/2017 at 09:33 PM.
slief is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09/16/2017, 09:38 PM   #14
swannking
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 345
I am sorry. I have mistaken the pic on my user manual.
I just checked my actual pump and it has the config as you stated.


Attached Images
File Type: jpg Screenshots_2017-09-16-22-41-23.jpg (43.5 KB, 13 views)
swannking is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09/16/2017, 10:07 PM   #15
slief
RC Sponsor

 
slief's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Simi Valley, Ca
Posts: 12,325
Quote:
Originally Posted by swannking View Post
I am sorry. I have mistaken the pic on my user manual.
I just checked my actual pump and it has the config as you stated.
Strange.. I never noticed those pictures in the manual. They must have reversed the images when putting the manual together.


__________________
Director Customer Support Royal Exclusiv USA
For All Royal Exclusiv & Bubble King questions please refer to our Sponsor forum: http://www.reefcentral.com/forums/fo...play.php?f=745

Current Tank Info: 480G display mixed reef, 90G sump, 90G refugium, 60G display refugium. Check out my build thread: http://www.reefcentral.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1783476
slief is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10/17/2017, 05:00 PM   #16
xabo
Registered Member
 
xabo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Wash. D.C.
Posts: 622
Quote:
Originally Posted by slief View Post
If you are running it internally, remove the union and don't even bother with a strainer unless you feel you really need one because of critters in your sump. You will save almost 2". I don't run strainers on any of my pumps though my closed loop does have one to prevent fish and snails from getting sucked into the intake. I have an RD3 80 on one of my tanks internally with no strainer and my RD3 230 has no strainer on the intake where the bulkhead plumbs into my refugium.

Can you elaborate on the strainer? Type, material etc. Thanks


xabo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10/17/2017, 07:02 PM   #17
slief
RC Sponsor

 
slief's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Simi Valley, Ca
Posts: 12,325
Quote:
Originally Posted by xabo View Post
Can you elaborate on the strainer? Type, material etc. Thanks
The intake strainers are titanium with machined PVC ends.
This is the one for the RD3 230.
https://royalexclusiv.com/Accessorie...63mm::876.html


__________________
Director Customer Support Royal Exclusiv USA
For All Royal Exclusiv & Bubble King questions please refer to our Sponsor forum: http://www.reefcentral.com/forums/fo...play.php?f=745

Current Tank Info: 480G display mixed reef, 90G sump, 90G refugium, 60G display refugium. Check out my build thread: http://www.reefcentral.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1783476
slief is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10/18/2017, 08:42 AM   #18
xabo
Registered Member
 
xabo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Wash. D.C.
Posts: 622
Thanks.......


xabo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:45 PM.


TapaTalk Enabled

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2017 Axivo Inc.
Use of this web site is subject to the terms and conditions described in the user agreement.
Reef CentralTM Reef Central, LLC. Copyright 1999-2014