Reef Central Online Community
The Filter Guys

Home Forum Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences View New Posts View Today's Posts

Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Search Reefkeeping ...an online magazine for marine aquarists Support our sponsors and mention Reef Central

Go Back   Reef Central Online Community > General Interest Forums > Lighting, Filtration & Other Equipment
Register Blogs FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read

Notices

Reply
Thread Tools
Old 09/20/2017, 08:37 PM   #1
DunnoMuch
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 49
Vortech Flow Calculator - MP10's or MP40's?

Trying to decide on 2 MP10's or 1 MP40 for my Red Sea Max 250. The display dimensions are 37x16x22 inches or about 54 gallons.

On Vortech's website, they have a "Flow Calculator" to help you decide. I am primarily concerned with SPS corals, but will have a few LPS on the bottom. The calculator says two MP10's will have an "Optimal Flow Zone" of about 2000 gal/hr for SPS and 1000 gal/hr for LPS. Furthermore, Vortech recommends 1900 gal/hr for SPS and 900 gal/hr for LPS. Therefore, the recommendation from the manufacturer is 2 MP10's.

However, in the forums, a lot of folks with my size tank seem to have to run their MP10's at 100% and wish they had more flow. Vortech's website says even one MP40 is WAY too much flow for my tank.

I would really like to run a pair. I also don't want to spend the $$$ on MP10's and wish I would have gotten the MP40's. Anyone have any thoughts/experience? Should I go with 2 MP10's, 1 MP40 or even 2 MP40's dialed back?


DunnoMuch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09/22/2017, 05:55 PM   #2
Leopardshark
Registered Member
 
Leopardshark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Mexico
Posts: 2,633
I would buy 2 x mp40. You can always reduce their flow, but you cant maximize more than 100% in the mp10s.


__________________
"To understand the bonds that unites us to all the living beings and to better judge the miracle of our own life, let the first wave of the sea break over you"
Jacques Ives Cousteau

Current Tank Info: 110 gal SPS tank, 3 G4 Pro Radions, Geo 618 calcium reactor, 2 x MP 40 Vortech, Vectra M return pump, Octopus Elite 200-int skimmer, APEX controller
Leopardshark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09/22/2017, 06:01 PM   #3
rtparty
Raise The Reef!
 
rtparty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Utah
Posts: 7,490
MP40 for sure. One reason being you can save up and add a second which you will want to do anyway and another reason being I'm pretty sure your glass is too thick for MP10s. I bought a used MP10 from a guy running your tank because it wouldn't hold on his glass.


__________________
Ryan

Click on my user name and check out my homepage!

Current Tank Info: 50g Cadlights/Giesemann Spectra (250w Radium, 2 ATI Blue Plus, 2 ATI Actinic)/2 x Vortech MP10wQD/Skimz SN123/Eheim Compact 3000+
rtparty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09/22/2017, 06:24 PM   #4
Robert Hoeck
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: New Smyrna Beach, Florida
Posts: 276
I've 40 breeder and was using 2 of 10's and had to run nearly 100. Just switched 1 out to 40 and happy.


Robert Hoeck is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09/22/2017, 06:27 PM   #5
DunnoMuch
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 49
Well, as luck would have it, before I saw these replies, I pulled the trigger on one MP10wQD. Great deal on eBay $225 shipped and brand new.

According to the flow calculator on Vortech's website, one MP40's minimum flow is way above the recommended flow my recommended tank. I will post pics in my next post, can't do it from this computer.

My thinking was to get this one MP10, see how I like it, then depending on how the MP10 was performing add another MP10 or MP40.

Appreciate all input. I will let everyone know how it goes.


DunnoMuch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09/22/2017, 06:34 PM   #6
DunnoMuch
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 49
See attached images from ecotechs site for my 54 gallon display. Their answer is clearly two MP 10s but seems thy are wrong and I will soon have a brand new MP 10 for sale


DunnoMuch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09/22/2017, 06:39 PM   #7
DunnoMuch
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 49
sorry, having trouble with the images, will upload when I get home.


DunnoMuch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09/22/2017, 07:09 PM   #8
JP Reef
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Greensburg, PA
Posts: 162
I wouldn't sweat it too much. See how it works for you. Only really an issue if your glass is too thick. A MP40 can be added later. A single MP10 should get you some good flow. May not get much on the opposite side though.


JP Reef is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09/22/2017, 10:44 PM   #9
DunnoMuch
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 49
Thanks for the positive thoughts. I will definitely give it a try.

I had to give up on uploading the screenshots, they won't take. If anyone is really interested, try putting your tank size in the Vortech Flow Calculator. You might get a smaller pump recommendation than you and/or most are actually using.

I would be interest to see what people find out.


DunnoMuch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10/03/2017, 12:30 PM   #10
DunnoMuch
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 49
Quick update, I received the pump last week and installed it Sunday. So far so good, it is staying on the glass. Perhaps I have been severely under powered in the flow department, but the one MP10 seems like a heck of a lot of flow to me! I have some small frags that have been blown off the rocks, will need to glue those down better.

I will probably get another MP10, want to wait and see if I have any issues with this one. It seems like there is probably not enough flow on the other side of my 3' long tank. I'm in no rush, however, because relative to what I had before, this seems like a huge improvement!


DunnoMuch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10/03/2017, 12:34 PM   #11
Potatohead
Registered Member
 
Potatohead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 1,608
You can always add as colonies grow. My tank is 32x24x20 and I have four MP10's in there. Two cap out about 85% and two at 55%.


Potatohead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10/03/2017, 03:18 PM   #12
Xandernfs
Registered Member
 
Xandernfs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: STL
Posts: 631
FWIW, I went with 2 MP40s on my Reefer250. I figured I'd dial them back rather than have MP10s high power most of the time. There is also an issue with the glass thickness and the connection with the MP10s.


Xandernfs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11/09/2017, 01:39 PM   #13
risk1994
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 24
Im getting a red sea 250 soon and plan on an mp40. Definitely dont want too little flow.


risk1994 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11/17/2017, 05:22 PM   #14
DunnoMuch
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 49
I went with two MP10's and a Reeflink, they have been going for over a month now. It seems like a lot of flow to me and tough on the fish. They hide in the rocks outside the current most of the time.

With the Reeflink, I am able to run Reefcrest for a few hours, Nutrient Transport for a few hours, back to Reefcrest and then I run a 20% constant at night. I max the Reefcrest at 80%.


DunnoMuch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11/17/2017, 05:24 PM   #15
DunnoMuch
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 49
Forgot to mention, no issues with glass thickness either!


__________________
See my tank: http://www.reefcentral.com/forums/showthread.php?t=2657168

Current Tank Info: Red Sea Max 250
DunnoMuch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11/17/2017, 06:42 PM   #16
outy
Registered Member
 
outy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: auburn CA
Posts: 3,209
I have 2 40's in a 215G tank and it has plenty for most needs. Maybe not SPS only tank.

2 40's would be overkill in a 50G

2 10s would be very nice


for the last decade I sold coral out of the 215 with 1 powerhead similar output to a single 40


__________________
215g DT, 100g basement sump. 3 X ocean revive leds. 2 X mp40qd.
GEO 618, avast kalk rector, iwaki m55. SWC 250 recirc needlewheel.
outy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11/17/2017, 11:39 PM   #17
kevin_e
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 922
I run 2 MP10s on my 50 cube and have for over a year. No issue with flow.

Sent from my SM-G920V using Tapatalk


kevin_e is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:51 PM.


TapaTalk Enabled

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2017 Axivo Inc.
Use of this web site is subject to the terms and conditions described in the user agreement.
Reef CentralTM Reef Central, LLC. Copyright 1999-2014