Reef Central Online Community
Live Aquaria

Home Forum Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences View New Posts View Today's Posts

Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Search Reefkeeping ...an online magazine for marine aquarists Support our sponsors and mention Reef Central

Go Back   Reef Central Online Community > General Interest Forums > New to the Hobby
Register Blogs FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read

Notices

Reply
Thread Tools
Old 11/08/2017, 03:39 PM   #1
Bulldog39
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Georgia
Posts: 152
What is up with my levels?

I used Dr. Tim's one and only bacteria to try and cycle my tank quick. Put it in 3 days ago along with 40 drops of ammonia because instructions said one drop per gallon and I have a 40 breeder. Look at my test.
Ammonia 2ppm
Nitrite 1ppm
Nitrate 40ppm

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G935A using Tapatalk


Bulldog39 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11/08/2017, 04:27 PM   #2
mcgyvr
Registered Member
 
mcgyvr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 12,588
You likely have less than 40 gallons of water due to rock/sand,etc....
As such your initial ammonia results were likely higher than 2ppm.. not to mention that the bottle of bacteria may contain some ammonia,etc...
Its also only been 3 days and that kind of bottled bacteria rarely works as advertised..

Just relax/wait..
Don't add any more ammonia..
Your tank is cycling.. Now you just wait..


__________________
Being blunt and having fun
mcgyvr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11/08/2017, 04:42 PM   #3
Bulldog39
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Georgia
Posts: 152
Used with sump and all 55 gallons of water and when I added it initially i had 4ppm ammonia.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G935A using Tapatalk


Bulldog39 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11/08/2017, 04:47 PM   #4
mcgyvr
Registered Member
 
mcgyvr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 12,588
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bulldog39 View Post
Used with sump and all 55 gallons of water and when I added it initially i had 4ppm ammonia.
ok well.. good... then your tank is progressing properly..
Your levels are to be 100% expected IMO..
again.. do not add more ammonium chloride.


__________________
Being blunt and having fun
mcgyvr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11/08/2017, 04:48 PM   #5
Bulldog39
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Georgia
Posts: 152
Awsome thanks so now just wait for diatoms and levels to drop I guess.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G935A using Tapatalk


Bulldog39 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11/08/2017, 04:53 PM   #6
mcgyvr
Registered Member
 
mcgyvr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 12,588
And a FYI for others.. see their high nitrate readings (and they will likely get worse)
That is exactly why dosing past 2ppm (heck even dosing past .5ppm) is not a smart move..4ppm is way too much and close to the point where you are actually killing bacteria not feeding it...
Now they are going to have to do a bunch of large water changes to rid the tank of all that excessive nitrate and get it down to acceptable levels post cycle..
I'd start making water now.. Expect to need to change maybe 50-100 gallons of water because of that.. and the larger the change the less water you will actually need.. (aka a big water change is better than multiple smaller ones)

looking at it again your nitrate isn't that bad..20ppm maybe. but it will get worse I'd bet..It could be 40 though.. hard to tell from here..

How many pounds of rock do you have BTW?


__________________
Being blunt and having fun
mcgyvr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11/08/2017, 05:16 PM   #7
Bulldog39
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Georgia
Posts: 152
45 lbs of rock and 40lbs of libe sand. Looks like 40ppm nitrate to me. Btw this is only week and a half total time and day 3 after the bacteria in a bottle

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G935A using Tapatalk


Bulldog39 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11/08/2017, 05:17 PM   #8
Bulldog39
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Georgia
Posts: 152
Also not using my filter sock for another 12 hours per the instructions. And no protien skimmer bought yet

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G935A using Tapatalk


Bulldog39 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11/08/2017, 11:31 PM   #9
JUNBUG361
Registered Member
 
JUNBUG361's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Antioch,CALIFORNIA
Posts: 638
Should of just cycled naturally. Be patient


JUNBUG361 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11/09/2017, 08:31 AM   #10
nereefpat
Registered Member
 
nereefpat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Central Nebraska
Posts: 1,689
As stated, everything is fine. Just give it more time...like weeks.

FYI, if nitrItes are present, nitrAte will read way higher than it actually is. If you dosed to 4ppm ammonia, your final nitrate reading should be <20ppm, as long as you didn't add any more sources of N.


__________________
Pat

Current Tank Info: 125 in-wall , 40b sump. 6 bulb T5. ASM G2 skimmer. LPS and leathers
nereefpat is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11/09/2017, 11:24 AM   #11
mcgyvr
Registered Member
 
mcgyvr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 12,588
Quote:
Originally Posted by nereefpat View Post
FYI, if nitrItes are present, nitrAte will read way higher than it actually is.
Thank you..good point.. Yes the presence of sufficient Nitrite has been stated to cause errors in nitrate readings


__________________
Being blunt and having fun
mcgyvr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11/09/2017, 01:27 PM   #12
jlmawp
Registered Member
 
jlmawp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 290
I saw your other post about the Dr. Tims product, where you posted this as well.

You have only been going for 3 days. I wouldn't worry too much. You need to give things time to do what they do. Take a breath and let nature take its course. It will be cycled when it's cycled. Wait another week and then test again. Don't bother wasting your test kits this early in the game.


jlmawp is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11/09/2017, 07:04 PM   #13
Lsufan
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Baton Rouge
Posts: 1,056
Don’t rush the process just because u used dr. Tims & are expecting a quick cycle. I have used it a few times & I don’t think it really sped up the cycle. It processes ammonia to nitrite quickly but in my case nitrite would stay around for weeks. So I anticipate that your ammonia will zero out in the first week, but it will still take 2 to 4 weeks after that for the cycle to complete. This was always my experience anyways.

I came to the conclusion that the reason these bacteria products say u can add fish is because it processes the ammonia quickly & nitrite usually is not toxic in saltwater at the levels we see.


Lsufan is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:36 PM.


TapaTalk Enabled

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2017 Axivo Inc.
Use of this web site is subject to the terms and conditions described in the user agreement.
Reef CentralTM Reef Central, LLC. Copyright 1999-2014