Reef Central Online Community

Home Forum Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences View New Posts View Today's Posts

Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Search Reefkeeping ...an online magazine for marine aquarists Support our sponsors and mention Reef Central

Go Back   Reef Central Online Community > General Interest Forums > Lighting, Filtration & Other Equipment
Register Blogs FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read

Notices

User Tag List

Reply
Thread Tools
Old 12/29/2017, 10:09 AM   #1
fishdip22
Registered Member
 
fishdip22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 160
to keep the RODI-90-10

So I am not sure what to do, I no longer have the need for the amount of RO-water I use to but I do need some RO-water. Right now I have a SpectraPure MAXCAP-RODI-90-10 the issue is I don't need 90gal a day I only use 3-4 gal a week and with a water change I am only needing 8gal extra every 2 weeks. The issue is I don't 100% trust the Fish stores around me as each time I have gotten RO water from them I was able to get a 1-5TDS on the TDS meter. so I was thinking can I get store RO water and just running it in a bucket with a duel DI resin stage? Also how long will DI resin last if it was in the original package and store in 70ish temp as the ones I have are 4-5 years old.


__________________
An aquarium is just a submarine for fish.
fishdip22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12/29/2017, 11:49 AM   #2
top shelf
Registered Member
 
top shelf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 719
I would keep the system for sure. As for storing water a 55g food grade brute trash can works great. Fill it up and let it sit till needed, as long as nothing gets into it your good to go. I fill mine about once a month or so without any I'll effects and many people store water this way for extended periods of time. While the brute can is pretty standard some have opted for other containers as well. It's also better for your di membrane to run 50g in one shot vs 3-4g at time. As for the older di resin I would think as long as it's stored properly it should be fine. If uncertain you can always install, run a proper break in period, then test tds to know for sure. Hth


__________________
Current tank info: 45g SCA Cube
top shelf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12/29/2017, 12:14 PM   #3
fishdip22
Registered Member
 
fishdip22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 160
Quote:
Originally Posted by top shelf View Post
I would keep the system for sure. As for storing water a 55g food grade brute trash can works great. Fill it up and let it sit till needed, as long as nothing gets into it your good to go. I fill mine about once a month or so without any I'll effects and many people store water this way for extended periods of time. While the brute can is pretty standard some have opted for other containers as well. It's also better for your di membrane to run 50g in one shot vs 3-4g at time. As for the older di resin I would think as long as it's stored properly it should be fine. If uncertain you can always install, run a proper break in period, then test tds to know for sure. Hth
Thanks I think its still good as I add 3gallons of water in a bucket and started running it water was at 5-6 tds and now in bucket down to 0-1 tds


__________________
An aquarium is just a submarine for fish.
fishdip22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12/30/2017, 11:39 AM   #4
LeJeune981
Registered Member
 
LeJeune981's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 598
Have you considered a smaller ro membrane ?

My spectra pure rodi came with a 100 gallon per day membrane... when it was time to change that membrane... I purchased a 50 gallon per day membrane..
It's a bit slow though for doing good water changes.. so I may opt to get a 75 gpd membrane next year

Sent from my SM-S907VL using Tapatalk


LeJeune981 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12/30/2017, 12:12 PM   #5
fishdip22
Registered Member
 
fishdip22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 160
Quote:
Originally Posted by LeJeune981 View Post
Have you considered a smaller ro membrane ?

My spectra pure rodi came with a 100 gallon per day membrane... when it was time to change that membrane... I purchased a 50 gallon per day membrane..
It's a bit slow though for doing good water changes.. so I may opt to get a 75 gpd membrane next year

Sent from my SM-S907VL using Tapatalk
Will smaller ones fit?


__________________
An aquarium is just a submarine for fish.
fishdip22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12/30/2017, 12:44 PM   #6
LeJeune981
Registered Member
 
LeJeune981's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 598
Quote:
Originally Posted by fishdip22 View Post
Will smaller ones fit?
Yes

I'm not 100 percent sure... but i do believe most all newer ro membranes are universal dimension wise

Sent from my SM-S907VL using Tapatalk


LeJeune981 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12/30/2017, 01:03 PM   #7
Misled
RC Mod
 
Misled's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Pittsburgh, Pa
Posts: 10,452
Blog Entries: 11
If you change the gpd of the membrane, you also should change the flow restrictor to match the new membrane.


__________________
Jesse
They were all in love with dying, They were drinking from a fountain, That was pouring like an avalanche, Coming down the mountain

Current Tank Info: 80 gallon rimless Deep Blue lagoon under construction
Misled is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01/01/2018, 05:27 PM   #8
outssider
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Reseda, Ca.
Posts: 1,326
Quote:
Originally Posted by Misled View Post
If you change the gpd of the membrane, you also should change the flow restrictor to match the new membrane.
or better yet, make yourself an adjustable flow restrictor then you can use what ever size ro membrane you like


outssider is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01/02/2018, 02:39 PM   #9
fishdip22
Registered Member
 
fishdip22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 160
Quote:
Originally Posted by outssider View Post
or better yet, make yourself an adjustable flow restrictor then you can use what ever size ro membrane you like
Any good links on this?


__________________
An aquarium is just a submarine for fish.
fishdip22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01/02/2018, 05:22 PM   #10
outssider
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Reseda, Ca.
Posts: 1,326
here is a picture of the one I made. All parts are available at a hardware store (home depot/lowes). It's the brass thing.


Attached Images
File Type: jpg P8081343.jpg (61.9 KB, 3 views)
File Type: jpg P8081344.jpg (59.4 KB, 3 views)
outssider is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:00 PM.


TapaTalk Enabled

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2018 Axivo Inc.
Use of this web site is subject to the terms and conditions described in the user agreement.
Reef CentralTM Reef Central, LLC. Copyright 1999-2014
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.3.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2018 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.