Reef Central Online Community

Go Back   Reef Central Online Community > General Interest Forums > Do It Yourself
Blogs FAQ Calendar

Notices

User Tag List

Unread 02/14/2007, 02:46 AM   #1
unclefrosby
Registered Member

UNCLEFROSBY's DIY zeo vit reactor PICS

so I have been designing my new tank for the past 6 to 8 months and the other day I was looking at my H&S calcium reactor and was admiring the craftsmanship. Then I glanced over at my captive oceans zeo reactor and the wheels started turning. So I woke up this morning with some kind of plan but no real drawings. When I got off work at 4 i started getting it all together... trip to TAP plastics, OSH, a local irrigation supply center and 7 11 for some energy drinks and tobacco. So in 2 and a half hours this is what I accomplished.

First off my new tank is only 62 gal so the standard zeo reactors are way to big for my tank, having a capacity of about 5 liters of media where I only need a half a liter. So the only other answer is custom make one just like everything else in my tank.

here is the reactor.

all the supplies

Drilling the hole for the bulkhead on the inner catch tray

Making the holes for water flow

after the holes were drilled I then pilot bored them

finished

After assembling the tube i needed to put in the union for it to work i need to drill a hole in the top of the reactor body then glue the bottom end of the union in place.

hole is drilled

now it fits

glued into place

I then dremeled the inside of the 2" to 3/4" reducer so the plunge rod could slide easily

cont....

unclefrosby is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 02/14/2007, 02:57 AM   #2
unclefrosby
Registered Member

i posted to pics of the union here is it glued in place

Unread 02/14/2007, 08:25 AM   #3
unclefrosby
Registered Member

cont. from the top

so now the reducer slides easily over the plunger

painting the white pvc fittings red for a custom look

Drilling out the hole for the 12" bulkhead for the overflow