Reef Central Online Community

Go Back   Reef Central Online Community > General Interest Forums > New to the Hobby
Blogs FAQ Calendar

Notices

User Tag List

Unread 06/23/2011, 07:37 PM   #1
Nathans_Dad
Registered Member

My new 29 Gallon Nano Reef build thread

Hello all, new to the forum.

This is my first attempt at a return to saltwater reefing after a minimally successful fish only set up some 15 years ago. Hopefully, I'm a little older and wiser and the technology is better now so I am thinking things will be better this time around. So, on to the tank!

This is a 29 gallon bowfront tank, 24 x 15 (at the tip of the bow) x 19. It was set up as my first freshwater tank some 3 years ago. It was idle in the garage for the last 18 months while I played with my 65 gallon fresh tank. I decided to take the plunge back into marine and thought this would be a decent way to get my feet wet.

Current equipment:

Lighting is a Current USA Outer Orbit 24" fixture with one 150w metal halide, 4 T5 HO actinics and 12 Moonlight LEDs (6 white and 6 blue). All are set up on timers, not exactly sure how long to run each one just yet. Currently I have the LEDS coming on 1 hours before the actinics, actinics 1 hour before the halide and the halide runs for 6 hours. Then it reverses at night. Eventually the halide will run longer but I am just cycling the tank at this point and might shut the lights off altogether to avoid an algae bloom. I got the fixture used for $140, which I thought was a decent deal.

Filtration is going to be a AquaC Remora protein skimmer which should arrive tomorrow.

I modded my AC70 into a mini-refugium and plan to grow Chaeto there.

Power heads will be two Koralia Evolution 750 gph models. I also have a 150 gph Top fin one I can throw in there if needed.

Usual thermostat heater set at 78 degrees.