Reef Central Online Community

Go Back   Reef Central Online Community > General Interest Forums > Lighting, Filtration & Other Equipment
Blogs FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read

Notices

User Tag List

Unread 11/07/2017, 01:52 PM   #1
dputt88
Registered Member

Equipment Considerations for a 240 FOWLR

My dad and I have been reefing for about 7 years, we recently took down our latest 90 gal reef tank several months ago. It was beginning to have some issues, maintenance was a pain with the way it was set up (we were newbies) and I no longer live there so all of that maintenance was put on him.

when we took down our 90 gal we knew there were a few thing we wanted to modify about the fish tank area. I tore up the old tile which was popping up, took down the paneling, adjusted the electrical so outlets were higher up, put up green board and retiled.

Originally we were going to set the 90 gal back up as just a FOWLR... but after all this we decided we had to go bigger if we were only going to be doing fish. so giving that the tiled area is 9.5 ft by 5 ft we decided on a 240 gal in wall tank. I will be framing 2 walls making this a corner in wall tank wit the front and right hand side showing. there will be a door on the left side (about 3.5 feet of space on the left) and 2.5 feet of space behind the tank. the tank will measure 72x30x25.

Now before we actually sign off on this tank, were trying to figure out exactly how we are going to do this, most importantly what equipment will we be using. when were were reefing with a 90 gal, things were simple. but I have found myself completely unfamiliar with equipment rated for a tank this size. also I'm not sure what is considered over-doing-it since this is going to be a FOWLR tank. I'm going to post some questions below as to different types of equipment.