Reef Central Online Community

Go Back   Reef Central Online Community > General Interest Forums > New to the Hobby
Blogs FAQ Calendar

Notices

User Tag List

Unread 01/25/2010, 10:10 PM   #1
k2skibum
Registered Member

Refugium too large?

I'm new to the hobby and this is my first thread on reef central, so bear with me.

I planning on putting together a 90gallon reef tank. I would like to do things "naturally" (i.e. lots of protein skimming and a refugium). I've been trying to find information about proper sizing and flow rates in a refugium, and it seems like the general consensus is 10% of display tank volume. My question is... Is it possible to have a refugium that is too large?

(I have an extra 55 gallon tank I want to use as a sump. With protein skimming on one end and a refugium on the other end..feeding the return pump in the center)

Originally I was planning on incorporating a DSB or Plenum in my display tank, and for aesthetic reasons, I've decided to do this in a the refugium. From what I read, the concern with a disproportionate refugium size is that there wouldn't be enough nutrients to support macro/mangrove growth. However, couldn't I have a large refugium in order to increase my NNR in the DSB and then limit how much macro/mangrove growth I have based on the expected bioload?

Any other disadvantages to large refugiums?

Just something that's been weighing on my mind, so I thought I'd ask the experts!

Thanks everyone!

-m

k2skibum is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 01/25/2010, 10:17 PM   #2
WhoDat?
Registered Member

Your refugium is best if it is as large as possible.... You can't go wrong... I have a 90 gallon bowfront and all I could fit under the cabinet was a 20g high as a refugium... If I could have fit another 90 gallon under the cabinet I would have... The more water volume you have the better.... More stability... Good luck!!