Reef Central Online Community

Go Back   Reef Central Online Community > Marine Fish Forums > Seahorses & Pipefish
Blogs FAQ Calendar

Notices

User Tag List

Unread 10/20/2015, 10:57 PM   #1
nanoreefer14
Registered Member

Question Seahorse help

Hi RC,
Im in a bit of a situation. My girlfriend has been begging me for a dwarf seahorse tank for a while and I have decided to get her one for christmas. However I am completely new to these little guys, so I am gonna need you all to fill me in. I have been researching around the google but Im not really satisfied yet. I am hoping to get some RC knowledge built up before I tackle this project. I am planning on most of it being DIY also, so I would like to see pictures for inspiration if possible. Also, she is going to be taking care of them, and she doesnt have near the saltwater experience that I do, so I am trying to keep it simple. Here are my questions:
1) what is the best filtration method, and/or setup that has worked best for you all?
2) What food have you all been most successful with?
3) do I need any special lighting, or will standard freshwater LEDs be adequate?
4) what parameters should I worry about, and what should they be?(I am used to reefing, but I have heard that dwarfs require special needs)
5) what kind of tankmates should I be looking at getting?
6) Do they have to be kept in pairs?
7) I am most likely going to order them online, so who has been a reputable vendor for you guys?
8) what kind of flow do I need?
9) live sand, dry sand, live rock, dry rock?
All advice is greatly appreciated, and thank you in advance!

Current Tank Info: 20g Mixed reef and a Custom 135g nano system (yes... I said nano)
nanoreefer14 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 10/21/2015, 12:55 AM   #2
angieg1123
Premium Member