Reef Central Online Community

Go Back   Reef Central Online Community > General Interest Forums > New to the Hobby
Blogs FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read

Notices

User Tag List

Unread 03/06/2018, 04:17 PM   #1
jsyteng
Registered Member

Hi, newbie here, contemplating converting from African cichlids to FOWLR/mixed reef

Hi Folks,

Just registered and logged in, happy to be here.

My current situation:
- have well established, 4 yr old Lake Tanganyikan cichlid 75g tank, with matching Aqueon stand and canopy.
- thinking about selling off all my Tangs, using the 75g as a quarantine tank, and buying a 90 gallon w/overflow so I can re-use the Aqueon stand/canopy.
- based on my current research, it would seem that if I wanted to go full-on reef one day, that I would need to lose the canopy (which is a shame since I really like that finished, clean look). Can somebody confirm this? Because it seems that reef-caliber LED lights require a minimum height from the water level. My Aqueon canopy is only 9” high and the bottom of the top lid is probably only is 5” - 6” above water level. I am wondering if a Kessil AP-700 could work in terms of it fitting inside the canopy but am unsure about spread/coverage and PAR at that height.
- I could probably buy the tank itself last. What are the pieces of equipment I should focus on first? I am in no rush, and want to take my time acquiring equipment. I am thinking of getting an all-in-one sump first (Eshopps, Trigger, etc.) and then an RO/DI system next.

Anybody who has thoughts/insight on my situation would be extremely appreciated. I admit I am hesitant to unload my Tangs bec. I’m a bit attached to them, and have considered keeping the Tang tank and just starting a 2nd, marine tank from scratch. Realistically however I know there is no way I have time to maintain both, though.

jsyteng is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 03/06/2018, 04:35 PM   #2
mcgyvr
Registered Member