Reef Central Online Community
The Filter Guys

Home Forum Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences View New Posts View Today's Posts

Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Search Reefkeeping ...an online magazine for marine aquarists Support our sponsors and mention Reef Central

Go Back   Reef Central Online Community > Sponsor Forums > Tunze
Register Blogs FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read

Notices

User Tag List

Reply
Thread Tools
Old 12/15/2008, 10:11 AM   #126
rvitko
RC Sponsor
 
rvitko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Austin Texas USA
Posts: 35,431
If you change the impeller and get an alarm still the motor is likely bad. Sorry I missed your earlier post.


__________________
Roger Vitko
Tunze USA

"He's for every one of us, stands for every one of us, he'll save every man, woman and child in a mighty Flash!"

Current Tank Info: 210 gallon planted tank with Altum Angelfish
rvitko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01/04/2009, 05:04 AM   #127
jthao
Super Saiyan
 
jthao's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: NorCal
Posts: 2,546
how do you clean a 6101?? and there's no alarm on there, so how do I know if something is wrong besides it just stop working.


__________________
Elos 160xl | Profilux 3.1Nex ultimate | BK DC200 | (5)Mitras 6200s |(4) Vortech MP40QD | 3155 ATO | Schuran CaRx | Carbon-Doser | Red Dragon return |
500G Starphire FOWLR | BK SM200 | (6) Tunze 6105
jthao is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01/05/2009, 11:36 AM   #128
rvitko
RC Sponsor
 
rvitko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Austin Texas USA
Posts: 35,431
The basic procedure is identical, there just is no alarm and you have the one piece 6100.70 drive unit.


__________________
Roger Vitko
Tunze USA

"He's for every one of us, stands for every one of us, he'll save every man, woman and child in a mighty Flash!"

Current Tank Info: 210 gallon planted tank with Altum Angelfish
rvitko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01/18/2009, 01:19 PM   #129
Tony Romano
Registered Member
 
Tony Romano's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Sugar Land Texas
Posts: 899
Tunze USA
305 Victor St
Austin, TX 78753


__________________
Roger Vitko
Tunze USA

I need to send mine in for service. Is above current? Do need me to clean it up or do you have acid bath?


__________________
Tony Romano

Why don't I have any money?

Current Tank Info: 215 & 90 mixed tanks
Tony Romano is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01/19/2009, 11:53 AM   #130
rvitko
RC Sponsor
 
rvitko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Austin Texas USA
Posts: 35,431
We do charge for cleaning, typically we only clean them well enough to get them running unless you want to pay for a full cleaning/overall which is $25 in labor.


__________________
Roger Vitko
Tunze USA

"He's for every one of us, stands for every one of us, he'll save every man, woman and child in a mighty Flash!"

Current Tank Info: 210 gallon planted tank with Altum Angelfish
rvitko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01/19/2009, 11:53 AM   #131
rvitko
RC Sponsor
 
rvitko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Austin Texas USA
Posts: 35,431
Address is correct by the way.


__________________
Roger Vitko
Tunze USA

"He's for every one of us, stands for every one of us, he'll save every man, woman and child in a mighty Flash!"

Current Tank Info: 210 gallon planted tank with Altum Angelfish
rvitko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02/10/2009, 12:41 PM   #132
edandsandy
Registered Member
 
edandsandy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: NE Florida
Posts: 2,401
Blog Entries: 2
Roger,
I have the 6101, I have it soaking in vinegar and water. How do I remove the impeller?
Do I just pull it apart?
It feels like I'm going to break it (lol) when i try and remove it.


__________________
Sandy
><((((>`..><((((>`><((((>
..><((((>.. , . .><((((>..

Current Tank Info: 375 Reef, 4) Radion LED lights X30 pro, Apex Fusion, Octo Regal 300 E Skimmer, GEO 618 Calcium Reactor 2) Reeflo Snapper pumps, 2)50g refugium, 2) MP 40's
edandsandy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02/10/2009, 02:31 PM   #133
rvitko
RC Sponsor
 
rvitko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Austin Texas USA
Posts: 35,431
It sounds like it is pretty badly cemented up. I would let it soak for a day or two and the try pulling with a twisting motion. If that doesn't work I would send it in.


__________________
Roger Vitko
Tunze USA

"He's for every one of us, stands for every one of us, he'll save every man, woman and child in a mighty Flash!"

Current Tank Info: 210 gallon planted tank with Altum Angelfish
rvitko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03/10/2009, 09:10 AM   #134
chefrt
Registered Member
 
chefrt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Brunei
Posts: 124
I have stream 6100 pump that not working quiet sometime. It has bean clean with vinegar and the propeller, O-ring look ok for me, it easy to turn with hand. The problem is, every time I switch on the propeller will spin about 2 to 3 spin and it will stop and sensor sound beeping will start. Can you tell me witch one it fouled, the motor or the sensor or propeller?


chefrt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03/10/2009, 11:33 AM   #135
rvitko
RC Sponsor
 
rvitko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Austin Texas USA
Posts: 35,431
Usually this means the motor is bad, part 6100.015.


__________________
Roger Vitko
Tunze USA

"He's for every one of us, stands for every one of us, he'll save every man, woman and child in a mighty Flash!"

Current Tank Info: 210 gallon planted tank with Altum Angelfish
rvitko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03/11/2009, 06:26 AM   #136
chefrt
Registered Member
 
chefrt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Brunei
Posts: 124
Thank you Roger,
I will order the motor part, after I get the quotation from Singapore.


chefrt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04/08/2009, 03:49 PM   #137
pebe
Registered Member
 
pebe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: southampton,ny
Posts: 56
pump repair

Roger, i have received my repaired pumps back today. Thank you once again, great service, very fast turn around. Pete.


pebe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04/17/2009, 06:47 AM   #138
jonboy
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Posts: 335
Roger,
I have 2 6101s that i have never taken apart and cleaned. I didnt
read the manual close enough. I have soaked them for 36 hours and
they are not moving. The impellers are off and the first ring is off.
Is there something else to remove to allow the shafts to slide out?
Thanks for the help,
jonathan


jonboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04/17/2009, 01:15 PM   #139
Tony Romano
Registered Member
 
Tony Romano's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Sugar Land Texas
Posts: 899
Roger - I am going to send in a pump next week. Do you use RMA numbers?

Tony


__________________
Tony Romano

Why don't I have any money?

Current Tank Info: 215 & 90 mixed tanks
Tony Romano is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04/17/2009, 01:30 PM   #140
rvitko
RC Sponsor
 
rvitko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Austin Texas USA
Posts: 35,431
No RMA's, just include your return address and phone number in the box.

jonboy, most likely if they are seized and you can't pull them out, you will need to send them in and it is unlikely the drive units can be removed without breaking them.


__________________
Roger Vitko
Tunze USA

"He's for every one of us, stands for every one of us, he'll save every man, woman and child in a mighty Flash!"

Current Tank Info: 210 gallon planted tank with Altum Angelfish
rvitko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05/16/2009, 12:34 PM   #141
fourts1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 53
Roger

Just bought a used wavebox(6260.10 pump) and when I plugged it in it did not work and transformer and driver got very hot immediately. No driver alarm sounded. Took pump apart and cleaned(extensive calcium deposits present). Swapped out driver(7240.27) with my 6200 and wavebox worked for two hours then driver alarm sounded. Recleaned pump and driver alarm again sounded within 5 minutes. Took drive unit and bushings from the 6200 and put them in the wavebox 6260.10 and alarm again sounded within five minutes although pump was functioning. When I put the driver and drive unit back on the 6200 they work fine. What do you suggest I do?


fourts1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05/18/2009, 11:22 AM   #142
rvitko
RC Sponsor
 
rvitko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Austin Texas USA
Posts: 35,431
Send in the pump and driver and I will call you and let you know what we find and how much it will cost to repair. I suspect the pump is bad or there is some small drive unit issue, like a mismatched bushing or bearing.


__________________
Roger Vitko
Tunze USA

"He's for every one of us, stands for every one of us, he'll save every man, woman and child in a mighty Flash!"

Current Tank Info: 210 gallon planted tank with Altum Angelfish
rvitko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08/26/2009, 11:14 AM   #143
teesquare
Coral Curmudgeon
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: western NC
Posts: 1,688
old 6100.10

Roger:

I am looking for an owners manual for some old 6100.10 s
( I have 5 of them) I cannot find them on the website....can you tell me if they may be archived somewhere that I could download a copy?
Thanks,
T


__________________
No....really honey, it was a gift!

Current Tank Info: 700 gallon combined reef/frag systems - 650gal Cichlid system
teesquare is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08/26/2009, 12:01 PM   #144
rvitko
RC Sponsor
 
rvitko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Austin Texas USA
Posts: 35,431
If you PM me your email address I will email it to you.


__________________
Roger Vitko
Tunze USA

"He's for every one of us, stands for every one of us, he'll save every man, woman and child in a mighty Flash!"

Current Tank Info: 210 gallon planted tank with Altum Angelfish
rvitko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09/15/2009, 09:43 PM   #145
hos
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: minnesota
Posts: 84
Hi Roger ,
I am having the same problem as a post I just read by Jmaxwell
Roger,

I've got a 6101 (a pair actually) and I think the motor is dead. Its about 9 months old, and I just cleaned the whole thing. All four parts of the impeller (impeller, bushing, o-ring and the other thing that is a pain to get out w/o needlenose pliers.) look free of calcium as does the hole that the impeller goes into. I usualy run it on a 7095, but I've been testing it in a bucket of water and just pluging it into the wall sans controller. The pump does nothing, no sound or anything. The little fuse looking thing that is set to 24V at the top glows red. Is that correct? I don't know that I ever heard any "alarm" where would I see that? Anyway should I send it in? I'm pretty sure I can not find my receipt.


although I have not taken the impeller apart it looks real clean to me and the other two older 6100 are working fine .
what do you sagest I do?
thanks
Frank


hos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09/16/2009, 09:25 AM   #146
rvitko
RC Sponsor
 
rvitko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Austin Texas USA
Posts: 35,431
6101's don't have an alarm, that is the older 6100. It is rare but sometimes a power supply lights up but doesn't work, I would try another power supply from a working pump.


__________________
Roger Vitko
Tunze USA

"He's for every one of us, stands for every one of us, he'll save every man, woman and child in a mighty Flash!"

Current Tank Info: 210 gallon planted tank with Altum Angelfish
rvitko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09/16/2009, 05:20 PM   #147
hos
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: minnesota
Posts: 84
bolth of the 6101 power supply lights are on and bolth of the pumps are not working


hos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09/17/2009, 09:33 AM   #148
rvitko
RC Sponsor
 
rvitko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Austin Texas USA
Posts: 35,431
Send them in, if I can't repair them I will replace them, please include the power supplies.

Tunze USA
305 Victor St
Austin, TX 78753


__________________
Roger Vitko
Tunze USA

"He's for every one of us, stands for every one of us, he'll save every man, woman and child in a mighty Flash!"

Current Tank Info: 210 gallon planted tank with Altum Angelfish
rvitko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09/18/2009, 05:39 PM   #149
hos
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: minnesota
Posts: 84
thank you Roger ,
I sent them out today ups said you should have it by wed of next week

Frank


hos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09/27/2009, 12:17 PM   #150
FishDad2
Registered Member
 
FishDad2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Northern NJ
Posts: 675
I'm trying to take the impeller out of my 6100 for maintenance but it simply won't come out. I tried leaving it in white vinegar over night but it's still stuck in there solid.

This isn't the first time I've had to do maintenance on the pump but this is the first time I've been unable to extract the impeller.

Looking at the 3rd picture posted on the first page of this thread, I have the 3 parts at the far right removed from the assembly, but the rest remains stuck inside the body of the pump.

Any suggestions on extraction?

Please advise.

Thanks,
Chris


FishDad2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:58 PM.


TapaTalk Enabled

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2018 Axivo Inc.
Use of this web site is subject to the terms and conditions described in the user agreement.
Reef CentralTM Reef Central, LLC. Copyright 1999-2014
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.3.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2018 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.