Reef Central Online Community

Go Back   Reef Central Online Community > General Interest Forums > The Reef Chemistry Forum
Blogs FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read

Notices

User Tag List

Unread 06/13/2018, 06:25 AM   #1
cedwards04
Registered Member

How do you know when it is time to start dosing?

I am new to reef tanks. My tank has been cycled and stocked since march. I know everyone says keep parameters stable and big swings are not good, but what exactly is concidered a "big" swing? I am using red sea coral pro salt and finding that my alk is dropping rapidly while my ca seems to be staying fairly consistent.

For example. Doing weekly water changes of 20%, my ca is staying between 420-440, while my dkh is reading 9.5 down to 6.5 before my next waterchange. I feel like i should be dosing alk.

Mg is almost always exactly the same reading every test@1420.

Tank is 50/50 mix of sps frags and lps.

Sg 1.026
Nitrates 0
Dont have a phosphate test kit yet.

I am using red sea test kits.

cedwards04 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 06/13/2018, 06:32 AM   #2
Bill_Moorman
Registered Member

It’s time to start dosing.

You want your alk to stay pretty stable through the days.

If you’re dropping from 9-6 dKH, that’s a huge swing. I test daily and I drop from 9 to 8.6 pretty much over night.

I would go straight to two part. It’s simple as it comes. Kalkwasser is a good alternative, but I didn’t want to destroy my ATO pump.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Bill_Moorman is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 06/13/2018, 07:16 AM   #3
cedwards04
Registered Member

So how much daily swing is acceptable? I'll start looking into dosing pumps. Im not into having to manually do it daily haha. Plus i work out if town a lot so it needs to be somewhat automated to work at least a few days on its own.

Unread 06/13/2018, 08:17 AM   #4
mcgyvr
Registered Member

I'm skeptical of your results unless you just threw a crap ton of hard corals into the tank...