Reef Central Online Community
Marine Depot

Home Forum Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences View New Posts View Today's Posts

Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Search Reefkeeping ...an online magazine for marine aquarists Support our sponsors and mention Reef Central

Go Back   Reef Central Online Community > Sponsor Forums > Neptune Systems
Register Blogs FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read

Notices

User Tag List

Reply
Thread Tools
Old 06/06/2011, 05:15 PM   #1
clp
RC Sponsor
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 4,311
Apex Firmware Update - 4.10 Beta

If you want to help test the latest firmware for the Apex, then read on. Don't expect this release to be perfect - that is why it is a beta release. If for any reason you are not comfortable putting beta firmware in your controller, I recommend that you wait for the final release.

This release adds the following features:

- Added support for Apex Jr
- Added support for AquaBus Lunar Simulator.
- Added probe calibrate to web pages.
- Updated bootloader.
- Updated Flash Utility with Apex discovery support.
- miscellaneous bug fixes.

The firmware can be downloaded from:

http://www.neptunesys.com/apex_4_10.zip

Curt


clp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06/06/2011, 10:05 PM   #2
RussM
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: El Cajon, CA
Posts: 7,818
FYI... The 6A11 build has a bug affecting switch inputs; Curt - 'da man' - has already fixed it. Look for a new post from Curt tomorrow.


RussM is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06/06/2011, 11:34 PM   #3
kenargo
Premium Member
 
kenargo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Redmond, WA
Posts: 8,151
You might want to hold off; there was a bug found in the loader that needs to be fixed; refresh should be online tomorrow. The corrected loader should report a version 4.0.0.1 (4.0.0.0 has a bug).


__________________
Click on my name to visit my homepage and access a collection of AquaController and Apex software, tips, trick and other Q&A including a link to the 'unofficial Apex new users guide' with loads of helpful information and don't forget to put a pin in my location map.

Current Tank Info: 225G, BK 300 Deluxe, Deltec PF601, Precision Marine Kalkreactor, 2-LMIII+6 pumps, SpectraPure UHE, Apex, LunarSim, Tunze 6305s. Mixed reef, clam, fish, etc.
kenargo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06/07/2011, 05:47 AM   #4
jrpark22000
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 572
Cool, I saw a loader issue last night, after failed attempt 6-8 it would reset my Apex. The webpage update worked fine.


jrpark22000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06/07/2011, 06:04 PM   #5
clp
RC Sponsor
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 4,311
The firmware on the web site has been updated. It fixes the digital input issue as well as updating the Flash Utility so that it works better with older bootloaders. You can still download it using the same link:

http://www.neptunesys.com/apex_4_10.zip

Curt


clp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06/07/2011, 06:55 PM   #6
jrpark22000
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 572
Thank you Curt. Fixed my issue with adding a second vortech, after the upgrade the second outlet was created. Also, nice add of the WXM and Vortech change options from the webpage.

AI Lightning is still a bad LSD trip, but in time hopefully.


jrpark22000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06/08/2011, 01:55 PM   #7
jbachert
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 73
Quote:
Originally Posted by jrpark22000 View Post
Thank you Curt. Fixed my issue with adding a second vortech, after the upgrade the second outlet was created. Also, nice add of the WXM and Vortech change options from the webpage.

AI Lightning is still a bad LSD trip, but in time hopefully.
I didn't install the beta yet - what do you mean WXM and Vortech change options?


jbachert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06/09/2011, 08:42 AM   #8
Hawkdl2
Mad Scientist
 
Hawkdl2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Claremont, Ca
Posts: 2,233
The Network setting and the Misc Settings page each have an option to "Reset system on update". Checking this option on either page and pressing "update" results, in my case, in the page failing to refresh and locking up as a blank page (I waited over 5 minutes). I can navigate to other pages (e.g. "graphs"), but when I return to the Network or Misc page, that check box is unchecked, which is not a surprise because it is ether supposed to be a one time option or the instruction never made it to the base unit, or perhaps both.


__________________
Larry

Current Tank Info: 120g mixed reef.
Hawkdl2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06/09/2011, 08:51 AM   #9
RussM
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: El Cajon, CA
Posts: 7,818
Larry, you are correct - that check is a one-time thing. Because the Apex reboots if that is checked, you need to wait until the Apex is back up and running. 45 seconds is ample time. Then just refresh the web page.


RussM is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06/09/2011, 08:23 PM   #10
sjwinick
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: US
Posts: 82
having trouble with the bootloader. downloaded current version. loader hangs on:

Placing Apex in read to receive mode
Trying to connect: attempt 1

after some failures, apex reboots

also seeing an ARP command line which i don't remember seeing before and it's reporting a different IP than the loader is set to

anyone else still having a problem loading the new code?

thx

sjw


sjwinick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06/09/2011, 09:38 PM   #11
superray2002
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 59
What does the "Open XML Access" option do (under Network Setup)? Will this allow you to use an RSS reader to poll the APEX without logging in? (Wasn't there an issue with having to use a secure connection (login) in order to access the RSS feed?)


superray2002 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06/09/2011, 09:56 PM   #12
RussM
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: El Cajon, CA
Posts: 7,818
The Open XML Access option, if enabled, allows anonymous/unauthenticated access to the RSS and various XML data outputs. Everything else still requires login.


RussM is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06/09/2011, 10:26 PM   #13
superray2002
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 59
What is the URL for a RSS Feeder Reader (http://Your.IP.net:88/rss.sht)
or it is different than on the web page when polling from a reader? I tested this with my Android using a feed reader and my (real) URL and I get "feed is invalid"...(Open XML Access is enabled). I use a profile for my lights so the Android App crashes and I would like to have a simple, quick way to check the stats without going to a web page or browser on my phone.


superray2002 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06/09/2011, 11:36 PM   #14
kenargo
Premium Member
 
kenargo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Redmond, WA
Posts: 8,151
Quote:
Originally Posted by RussM View Post
The Open XML Access option, if enabled, allows anonymous/unauthenticated access to the RSS and various XML data outputs. Everything else still requires login.

Open access does NOT include RSS; it is ONLY for the XML (status, log, outlet and program).

RSS is not opened.


__________________
Click on my name to visit my homepage and access a collection of AquaController and Apex software, tips, trick and other Q&A including a link to the 'unofficial Apex new users guide' with loads of helpful information and don't forget to put a pin in my location map.

Current Tank Info: 225G, BK 300 Deluxe, Deltec PF601, Precision Marine Kalkreactor, 2-LMIII+6 pumps, SpectraPure UHE, Apex, LunarSim, Tunze 6305s. Mixed reef, clam, fish, etc.
kenargo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06/10/2011, 04:31 AM   #15
RussM
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: El Cajon, CA
Posts: 7,818
Quote:
Originally Posted by kenargo View Post
Open access does NOT include RSS; it is ONLY for the XML (status, log, outlet and program).
Ken, try it... RSS(.xml) is included.
http://apex.reeftronics.net:7333/cgi-bin/rss.xml.


RussM is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06/10/2011, 04:35 AM   #16
RussM
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: El Cajon, CA
Posts: 7,818
Quote:
Originally Posted by superray2002 View Post
What is the URL for a RSS Feeder Reader (http://Your.IP.net:88/rss.sht)
http://Your.IP.net:port/cgi-bin/rss.xml

Note that only probe parameters appear in the RSS; outlet status does not.


RussM is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06/10/2011, 08:44 AM   #17
superray2002
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 59
That's what I was looking for...Thanks guys! Would be nice to have the outlet status also, but was looking for the Temp in a feed since summer is here in Texas and I wanted to keep an eye on the temp in the tank .


superray2002 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06/10/2011, 10:42 AM   #18
kenargo
Premium Member
 
kenargo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Redmond, WA
Posts: 8,151
Quote:
Originally Posted by RussM View Post
http://Your.IP.netort/cgi-bin/rss.xml

Note that only probe parameters appear in the RSS; outlet status does not.

It isn't supposed to work.

The real feed is /rss.sht and I've heard that some browsers won't accept the .xml as a feed but if the xml works for your needs that is good.


__________________
Click on my name to visit my homepage and access a collection of AquaController and Apex software, tips, trick and other Q&A including a link to the 'unofficial Apex new users guide' with loads of helpful information and don't forget to put a pin in my location map.

Current Tank Info: 225G, BK 300 Deluxe, Deltec PF601, Precision Marine Kalkreactor, 2-LMIII+6 pumps, SpectraPure UHE, Apex, LunarSim, Tunze 6305s. Mixed reef, clam, fish, etc.

Last edited by kenargo; 06/10/2011 at 11:00 AM.
kenargo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06/10/2011, 03:21 PM   #19
RussM
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: El Cajon, CA
Posts: 7,818
Quote:
Originally Posted by kenargo View Post
It isn't supposed to work.

The real feed is /rss.sht and I've heard that some browsers won't accept the .xml as a feed but if the xml works for your needs that is good.
.sht files in the AC3 and Apex are s-htlml, which invoke a designated server-side include; the exec process is pretty much just a redirect to the actual demand-generated rss.xml and other raw XML. The RSS/XML (.xml files) have always been accessible without using the sht exec process. The sht files still remain protected in all cases, but if Open XML is enabled, there is direct/unathenticated access to any xml files - rss.xml included, which is the actual RSS feed.

You heard right... Chrome is the one which does not have a standard-compliant embedded RSS processor, so the rss.xml is just displayed as raw XML. Current versions of IE, FF, and Safari see the rss tag in the file, and properly display it as an RSS feed. Old IE (7 and earlier I think) also had issues.

Outlook 2010's RSS reader works great with the Apex now. 2007 is probably good too. Even Safari on iPhone reads and displays rss.xml properly.


RussM is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06/15/2011, 03:34 PM   #20
rinconmike
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: by NYC
Posts: 659
any new info on the latest beta? is it pretty stable?


rinconmike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06/15/2011, 04:27 PM   #21
kenargo
Premium Member
 
kenargo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Redmond, WA
Posts: 8,151
It has been stable for me; running it on a few systems, no issue.


__________________
Click on my name to visit my homepage and access a collection of AquaController and Apex software, tips, trick and other Q&A including a link to the 'unofficial Apex new users guide' with loads of helpful information and don't forget to put a pin in my location map.

Current Tank Info: 225G, BK 300 Deluxe, Deltec PF601, Precision Marine Kalkreactor, 2-LMIII+6 pumps, SpectraPure UHE, Apex, LunarSim, Tunze 6305s. Mixed reef, clam, fish, etc.
kenargo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06/15/2011, 04:45 PM   #22
jrpark22000
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 572
+1, no issues here.


jrpark22000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06/15/2011, 07:50 PM   #23
phuzzykins
Moved On
 
phuzzykins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Waltham, MA
Posts: 685
The flash utility won't upgrade for me... first time I've had a problem with this:


Loading firmware file into memory
Firmware file load complete...
Calculating Apex Start Checksum Vector
Calculating Apex Start Checksum Vector complete...
The controller address is: 10.0.0.7
Connecting to controller at address: 10.0.0.7
Connecting
Connected, waiting for login prompt
Login prompt detected, sending user name information
User name accepted, sending password information
Waiting for login to be accepted
Login successful
Login successful
Requesting boot loader version information
Apex running in boot loader mode
Trying to connect: attempt 1

Operation failed with the following error information:

StartIndex cannot be less than zero.
Parameter name: startIndex



phuzzykins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06/15/2011, 07:54 PM   #24
RussM
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: El Cajon, CA
Posts: 7,818
Quote:
Originally Posted by phuzzykins View Post
The flash utility won't upgrade for me... first time I've had a problem with this
are you trying to load 4.10-6A11 or -6B11? There was a bug in the first beta build that caused problems with updating firmware. And you need to use the flash utility that comes with 6B11 too.


RussM is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06/15/2011, 08:16 PM   #25
phuzzykins
Moved On
 
phuzzykins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Waltham, MA
Posts: 685
Quote:
Originally Posted by RussM View Post
are you trying to load 4.10-6A11 or -6B11? There was a bug in the first beta build that caused problems with updating firmware. And you need to use the flash utility that comes with 6B11 too.
I'm using both the flash utility and firmware from the 6C11 zip file.

The flash utility identifies itself as 4.0.0.2, if that helps.


phuzzykins is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Apex Firmware Update - 4.05 Beta clp Neptune Systems 76 04/27/2011 12:22 PM
Apex Firmware Update - 4.04 Beta clp Neptune Systems 153 11/22/2010 07:59 PM
Apex Firmware Update - 4.03 Beta clp Neptune Systems 229 05/27/2010 01:27 PM
Apex Firmware Update - 4.02 Beta clp Neptune Systems 227 03/11/2010 01:04 PM
Apex Firmware Update - 4.01 Beta clp Neptune Systems 61 11/15/2009 05:06 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:05 PM.


TapaTalk Enabled

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2020 Axivo Inc.
Use of this web site is subject to the terms and conditions described in the user agreement.
Reef CentralTM Reef Central, LLC. Copyright 1999-2014
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.3.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.