Reef Central Online Community

Go Back   Reef Central Online Community > General Interest Forums > The Reef Chemistry Forum
Blogs FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read

Notices

User Tag List

Unread 11/15/2017, 07:37 PM   #1
ReefNik
Registered Member

HELP!!!!! Tested Water Nitrates Super High

Hey guys, today I got home from work and tested my water. My ph, ammonia, and nitrites are all perfect but my nitrate level spiked out of proportion within a week. It is reading 140 ppm!! Also during the week I noticed a small amount of algae growing on rocks and now the water is greenish cloudy a tad bit amd does not look good.
I am fairly new to saltwater tanks and this is my first one and love it so much.
55gallon tank
Back filters running carbon
No sump or protien skimmer(will be getting one soon)
I have a powerhead that runs the water all good
No live rock or corals just a couple of snails and 3 fish that will eventualy get sick.
I do 20% water changed once a week.
I did just out mangrove seeds in my tank today because i heard they get rid of nitrates good and I like how they look under water. Please let me know what i can do! Thank you

ReefNik is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11/15/2017, 08:14 PM   #2
hegeh
Registered Member

How long has it been running? My guess not cycle properly..and did you use di water to make your water?

Sent from my SM-G930F using Tapatalk

hegeh is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11/15/2017, 08:27 PM   #3
outy
Moved On

Mangroves are not ideal for reducing nitrates.

If test kits is right, you need a 80-100% water change.

I don't know hoe much you feed but you had better cut back, or do more water changes

Me? 100% water change

outy is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11/15/2017, 08:33 PM   #4
bertoni
RC Mod

To Reef Central