Reef Central Online Community

Go Back   Reef Central Online Community > General Interest Forums > New to the Hobby
Blogs FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read

Notices

User Tag List

Unread 01/15/2018, 11:54 PM   #1
Sagemcdonald
Registered Member

Question New2Salt 55 Gallon help

Hi all,

I was wondering if you guys could help me out with what corals/fish I should get for my 50 Gallon tank. I am new to the salt water scene, but have kept freshwater fish for over 15 years. My tank is tall and similar to a 30gallon tank length wise. I do want to have 2 clown fish for sure.

Sagemcdonald is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 01/16/2018, 08:23 AM   #2
nereefpat
Registered Member

The clowns will be fine.

Look into flasher/fairy wrasses, gobies, blennies, basslets, cardinals, damsels, etc.

Fishes to stay away from: triggers, tangs, full-size angels, puffers, butterflies.

You'll have to tell us more about your system (dimensions, specific lights, equipment) to get more advice, especially on corals.

Current Tank Info: 125 in-wall , 40b sump. 6 bulb T5. ASM G2 skimmer. LPS and leathers
nereefpat is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 01/16/2018, 08:48 AM   #3
emilese
Registered Member

What types of corals do you think you'll want to keep? Softies? LPS? SPS?

emilese is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 01/16/2018, 09:04 AM   #4
Sorcha2
Registered Member

There are a few small types of puffers that would be fine in that size of tank but they will eat snails and crabs. Valintini puffers would be a good one to look into. Most of the easily available puffers in the saltwater trade do grow too large for that size of tank though.

Royal Gamma is another pretty fish to look into.

There are also some very pretty varieties of wrases that would work.

Cherub Angel might work. I've never had one though and sometimes I hear they can pick at corals.

Sent from my SM-G950U using Tapatalk

Sorcha2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 01/17/2018, 12:48 AM   #5
JUNBUG361
Registered Member