Reef Central Online Community

Home Forum Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences View New Posts View Today's Posts

Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Search Reefkeeping ...an online magazine for marine aquarists Support our sponsors and mention Reef Central

Go Back   Reef Central Online Community > General Interest Forums > Lighting, Filtration & Other Equipment
Register Blogs FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read

Notices

User Tag List

Reply
Thread Tools
Old 11/27/2017, 07:42 PM   #1
PirateLove
Registered Member
 
PirateLove's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Lexington,KY
Posts: 520
Very frustrated with my RODI. Do I need 1 micron filters?

I was gifted a new rodi unit but it came with 5 micron filters. I did not think it would matter and added a di canister to it. I bought fresh new di resin yesterday and it was pumping out 0 tds. Today it will not go below 4 tds! I just spent the money and time replacing the membrane, filters, and di, and it still will not go below 4. My water coming in is at 188.

Any advice?


__________________
"Pirate love, is what I'm looking for. Pirate love, is what i'm wanted for."

Current tank: Cad Lights 42 versa. Kessil AP700. Some Sps and Lps.
PirateLove is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11/27/2017, 08:04 PM   #2
outy
Moved On
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: auburn CA
Posts: 4,028
The 5 micron is fine, 1 micron changes nothing.

The actual ro membrane determines what is fed to the DI.

You may want to clear the system for a minute before allowing water into the DI stage. TDS creep is real

Also it helps us and you if you know what the TDS is leaving membrane before DI

It also helps to have DI cartridge up and down not laying on its side.


outy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11/27/2017, 10:04 PM   #3
Opus123
Registered Member
 
Opus123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: North Texas
Posts: 533
Outy is correct. The sediment and carbon filters do nothing to change the tds of the water. Their only purpose is to protect the RO membrane from large particles and chemicals. That said, I only use 1 micron or .5 micron prefilters, but only to better protect the RO membrane. Knowing your tds after the ro but before the di will help determine if there is an issue with the RO membrane. If it is working correctly your 188 water should be between 3 and 9 if your RO membrane is working to spec. Even at a tds of 9, your di should produce around 500 gallons of 0 tds water before it starts going up.


Opus123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11/28/2017, 05:31 AM   #4
mcgyvr
Registered Member
 
mcgyvr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 17,169
Well water with high CO2?

But yes.. lots of questions for you and some pictures of your setup just to make sure nothing is hooked up wrong,etc..
You sure you are getting the water after the DI stage?
Is it a cheap horizontal DI stage?


__________________
Being blunt and having fun
mcgyvr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11/29/2017, 10:11 AM   #5
PirateLove
Registered Member
 
PirateLove's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Lexington,KY
Posts: 520
Thank you so much for everyones help. After looking at my system, my di was running Before my membrane. I switched the inline tds meter to read after the membrane and after the di stage. Right now it states that I have 12 tds after the membrane and 4 tds after the di stage.


__________________
"Pirate love, is what I'm looking for. Pirate love, is what i'm wanted for."

Current tank: Cad Lights 42 versa. Kessil AP700. Some Sps and Lps.
PirateLove is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11/29/2017, 10:30 AM   #6
mcgyvr
Registered Member
 
mcgyvr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 17,169
DI stage plumbed before RO? yep thats certainly the eason for your problems..

Now your DI resin is just shot from that abuse..
Replace it and all should be good again..


__________________
Being blunt and having fun
mcgyvr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11/29/2017, 11:19 AM   #7
ballhog
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: North of Detroit
Posts: 90
Do you know the PSI at the membrane? Id also check the TDS before it goes into the DI resin.


ballhog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11/29/2017, 12:25 PM   #8
outy
Moved On
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: auburn CA
Posts: 4,028
Quote:
Originally Posted by ballhog View Post
Id also check the TDS before it goes into the DI resin.
he did its 12


outy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01/13/2018, 06:16 AM   #9
Buckeye Hydro
.Registered Member
 
Buckeye Hydro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Cincinnati, Ohio
Posts: 5,798
The size of the pores in the sediment filter is important - you'll want the pore size in the carbon block to be about the same or larger than the pore size on the sediment filter - otherwise your carbon block will trap sediment.

Russ


Buckeye Hydro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01/15/2018, 11:44 AM   #10
tkeracer619
Registered Member

 
tkeracer619's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Westminster, CO
Posts: 16,972
Quote:
Originally Posted by Buckeye Hydro View Post
The size of the pores in the sediment filter is important - you'll want the pore size in the carbon block to be about the same or larger than the pore size on the sediment filter - otherwise your carbon block will trap sediment.

Russ
Yup, it will reduce life of carbon blocks if the prefilters aren't rated the same or better as the carbon.


__________________
Hobby Experience: 9200ish gallons, 26 skimmers, and a handful of Kent Scrapers.
Current Tank:
Vortech Powered 600G SPS Tank w/ 100gal frag tank & 100g Sump. RK2-RK10 Skimmer. ReefAngel. Radium 20k.
tkeracer619 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01/15/2018, 12:54 PM   #11
nozleman
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Camarillo, ca
Posts: 194
Your PSI incoming needs to be about 60 PSI min! That will help lower your TDS.


nozleman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01/15/2018, 02:07 PM   #12
HBtank
Premium Member
 
HBtank's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Huntington Beach, CA
Posts: 2,960
Yeah if you use up all your resin like that you reach breakthrough and worse, the filter will start actually releasing TDS back into the water. Replace and then try again!


__________________
80g Aiptasia dominated reef tank.. with fish and now a bunch of berghia!

Current Tank Info: 80g tank, re-starting a reef after a zoanthid nudibranch plauge, followed by months of steady and unstoppable STN/RTN, crashed; stayed FOWLR for a couple years, currently an aiptasia dominated reef tank with fishies and BERGHIA
HBtank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01/15/2018, 02:26 PM   #13
Buckeye Hydro
.Registered Member
 
Buckeye Hydro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Cincinnati, Ohio
Posts: 5,798
Quote:
Originally Posted by nozleman View Post
Your PSI incoming needs to be about 60 PSI min! That will help lower your TDS.
Filmtec residential membranes will perform reasonably down to about 40 psi. They are factory tested at 50 psi.
Higher pressure, within limits, is better.

Russ


Buckeye Hydro is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:15 PM.


TapaTalk Enabled

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2018 Axivo Inc.
Use of this web site is subject to the terms and conditions described in the user agreement.
Reef CentralTM Reef Central, LLC. Copyright 1999-2014
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.3.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2018 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.