Reef Central Online Community

Go Back   Reef Central Online Community > Special Interest Group (SIG) Forums > Nano Reefs
Blogs FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read

Notices

User Tag List

Unread 07/10/2018, 01:41 PM   #1
MyMocha
Registered Member

Talking I'm new to nano tanks!

Hi everyone!
I'm new to this community. I'm very excited and just want to say hello. I have substantial experience with softie reef/large marine tanks, but zip with smaller. My recent tank of 6 years was a 300 gal. Whoop! Then we moved and couldn't fit it in the house. Nooo! So had to way downsize (hubby tried to nix it altogether). I now have:
32Gal coralife biocube going for about 6 months
DSB maybe 4-4.5"
1 coralife skimmer which I'm not thrilled with.

1damsel. My first fish ever. He's 11. Won't die.
1 black capped jawfish. Had him about 3 weeks.
1 lawnmower blenny
1 cleaner shrimp
Handful of snails and hermies.
Live rock... um... 30lbs

Does anyone dose NO3:PO4 by RedSea? I'm combating a little cyano. I also use carbon and a purigen pad. I'm finding mixed reviews on this. Basically seems like vodka dosing to me, but thought I'd give it a whirl.
Also...
How often and how much of a water change do you advise for this size tank?

Thanks all!

MyMocha is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07/10/2018, 01:53 PM   #2
Danny_15
Registered Member

Hi there, i have a 20 gallon nuvo and its packed with sps and some acros. I never had any problem with cyano or algea. I do 1 water change a month. All i can tell you is use RO/DI water when you do a water change. If you dont have a unit to make your on water make sure you use a trustful source. I used to get my RO/DI water at a reef store and it wasnt good water and i started seeing algea so be careful with that. And something that helps to is to have cheato algea, my tank has a built in overflow so i just stuck it in one of the compartments and have one of those lights that have clamps and you turn the neck on the algea and it gets the job done.