Reef Central Online Community

Go Back   Reef Central Online Community > General Interest Forums > New to the Hobby
Blogs FAQ Calendar

Notices

User Tag List

Unread 06/05/2012, 11:49 AM   #1
corallover09
Registered Member

Exclamation corals are dying

Hello everyone! My name is Britni and I am fairly new to the salwater life. I have a clown fish named Oren, a goby who I keep calling the sand eater, a turbo snail, have/had a star snail (still determining if hes dead or not, pretty sure he is) and a shrimp. I have two anenomies, a maxi-mini carpet and a pink tip. My anenomes are doing great which is pretty awesome. I have some coral frags, not sure their names, but the on I do know. There are two orange colored hard corals that look likes trees. A dark hard coral with greenish blue dots that kind of look similar to tiny flowers which looks like a tree. I had a blue lollypop but this fish I got rid of killed it and I can't find it anywhere. The last coral, which I need a lot of help with is a purple challice sponge coral frag. He turned dark brown then brown, to a whitish color and now is turning into a sponge (I guess that would be how it gets it's name). I started using a soft/hard coral supplement. I don't have the exact numbers for my tank except I know that salt level is at .026, the nitrite is very high and the nitrate is in the middle. I don't have a protein skimmer, which I am working on with getting this new big tank set up. Everything else seems to be doing great, just that soft coral. I'm not sure what I am doing wrong, however I am at work writing all this so tonight when I get home 6pm est, I can get more info and exact numbers. I hope this enough to work off of for now, oh yes the lighting. It is a 10k led light, I'm pretty sure, I will double check when I get home. Any bit of help, will help. Thank you. I can post pictures when I get home too.

corallover09 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 06/05/2012, 11:56 AM   #2
chad316
Registered Member