Reef Central Online Community

Go Back   Reef Central Online Community > General Interest Forums > New to the Hobby
Blogs FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read

Notices

User Tag List

Unread 05/03/2017, 08:43 AM   #1
Beans2000
Registered Member

Question All Of The Sudden All Fish Died!!!

Hey guys, I always read ReefCentral forums for help answering my questions but this is my first time posting!

Last night I noticed my 2 Chromis (the only fish I have) were acting very strange. One was staying in the corner of my tank and the other one swam a little more but stayed close by. The chromis that seemed in better shape are a small bit yesterday, the other didn't eat at all. Well, woke up today the one was dead which I assumed was going to happen, and the other I thought was dead too but was still alive, just not swimming at all.

40b
Ammonia-0
Nitrite-0
Ph-8.1

That's all I tested for this morning, I have no idea what killed them! I have no skimmer, the only filtration I have is a filter sponge and sock in the sump, with chaeto and 50lbs live rock. The tank has been cycled for a month or so and doing really good until now. All coral and inverts are doing great (5 hermits, cerith snails, 2 nassarius) the only thing I can think of is a couple days ago my zoanthid frags released some mucus after I took them off the plug. I did a 15% water change last night and everything was happy except the chromis.

Please Help, I have a picture of the fish last night and this morning after he was dead if that helps I can post them.

Beans2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 05/03/2017, 08:57 AM   #2
fishchef
Registered Member

Hard to say. With such a new system you could of had a mini cycle. Chromis tend to fight and beat up each other. Just watch your ammonia and nitrite. I'd put a skimmer on the system for sure. Keep your sponge clean.

fishchef is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 05/03/2017, 09:48 AM   #3
Sk8r
RC Mod