Reef Central Online Community

Go Back   Reef Central Online Community > General Interest Forums > New to the Hobby
Blogs FAQ Calendar

Notices

User Tag List

Unread 07/24/2016, 10:33 AM   #1
Sly1461
Registered Member

I can not get rid of Cyano bacteria

I've been battling Cyano bacteria growth for 5 months. I am pretty much out of ideas of how to defeat it. I have tried Chemi clean treatment and siphoning out all the covered sand, boiling it in RO and returning it to the tank. I feed the tank frozen mysis and always drain the water it defrosts in before dropping into the tank. I was advised to put phosguard into the filter which I have done. However it is getting worse and starting to grow on my Montipora and basically looks horrible.

How do I get rid of this for good, I'm starting to think the only way is to do something dramatic, like pulling everything out and starting again

Tank details:
Been going for 9 months
Jewel lido 120 litre, HB Reef octopus skimmer, V2 Lumen air lighting, Eheim prof 3 filter.

2 Percula Clowns, Watchman goby, Cleaner shrimp
4 Hermits
10 Nassarius (which seem to be breeding rapidly)
2 turbo snails (one got eaten by a hermit crab recently after living happily for 6 months)
RBT Anemone, 2 torch corals, branched montipora, purple gorgonia, ricordea, zoanthids

Levels:
NO3 - 5-6 ppm
PO4 - 0.1
Mg - 1200
Ca - 380
KH - 8.4
pH - 8.0

(I do 18 litre water changes every two weeks and dose Mg, Ca & KH buffer weekly as these seem to drop. The skimmer runs in the day time only)

Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMAG1634.jpg (60.4 KB, 124 views)
Sly1461 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07/24/2016, 10:51 AM   #2
bmitchell138
Registered Member

Are you just seeing it just in that corner of the tank? Maybe play with your power heads and get some more flow in that area or add another power head to the tank.

Just curious why you are only running your skimmer during the day?

bmitchell138 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07/24/2016, 11:08 AM   #3