Reef Central Online Community

Go Back   Reef Central Online Community > General Interest Forums > Do It Yourself
Blogs FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read

Notices

User Tag List

Unread 02/08/2011, 01:11 PM   #1
jpccusa
Registered Member

Post JP's DIY LED Fixture

My background: I have no experience with electronics and I am somewhat afraid of electricity. I am a business adm student and full time worker. I'm a DIYer by nature. I decided to do this project so I can have something top of the line, changeable/fixable, and cheaper.

Tank Background: 60W x 24D x 18L Acrylic, live rock and sand, reef-safe fish, mushrooms and Xenias.
My previous lighting was 3 Helios T5 (plug/play type) but I am not longer able to find those for sale.
The wood canopy has a frontal angled lid, which reduces the mounting area for the LEDs to 12 inches.

After a few months of reading and many private messages, this is...

The Plan: 48 Cree LED (60W * 12L / 15 square inches per LED) driven by 2 Meanwells ELN-60-48D, wired in parallel (2 strings of 12 LEDs each driver). Two potentiometers (1 per driver) will control dimming separately for blues and whites for color temperature adjustment (References 1 & 2).

Color: 24 XP-E Royal Blue + 16 XP-G Cool White + 8 XP-G Neutral White + 2 XP-G Warm White

Heatsink: Home Depot has 3/4 U-channels for less than $11/8ft.. I'm aware the LED star is slightly wider, but I don't see a problem with that.

Cooling: Two 120mm fans

Other Parts: - 4 x 1A Quick Blowing Fuses (one per string)
- 4 x 1.0 Ohm, 1% accuracy, 3 or 5W Resistors (one per string)
- 8 x terminal blocks (four per driver)
- 20 gauge pre-tinned wires
- 1 x 10V power supply
- Thermal compound (I have Arctic Cooling MX2 but unsure if that will work)

Please share your opinions. Will this work? Can anything be replaced or improved while keeping the present cost? Is there any mandatory changes that should be done? Etc.

I will try to take pictures of the construction process once it starts.