Reef Central Online Community

Go Back   Reef Central Online Community > General Interest Forums > Tank Journals & Builds
Blogs FAQ Calendar

Notices

User Tag List

Unread 05/24/2018, 08:03 PM   #1
itzgerm
Registered Member

First Setup. 75gallon Day 12 of cycling

Browsing online found this forum! Decided I would post my new tank set up, to try and get some new ideas. Also looking for some helpful insight from the pros. I am a beginner and this is my first saltwater tank. My dad always had one as a kid, so once they opened up a tropical fish store about a mile from me I began shopping!

STARTED TANK ON 5/13.

SETUP:
•75 Gallon Marineland tank
•Hang on the back sump (brand etc unknown. Bought used.
•Sicce Voyager 1600 Powerhead
•Rio Plus 2500 Aqua Pump
*Bubble Curve 5 skimmer (not yet installed)
•Temperature at 78

-Started with 20lbs of CaribSea Fiji pink live sand and 40 lbs of Fiji pink aragonite sand.

-Initially bought 67lbs of mixed live rock and dry rock. About 30lbs live 37 dry. A week later I proceeded to buy a 9lb live rock shelf piece and also a 12lb piece of Real Reef rock. Both to try and help raise my pH. (Recommended by guys at fish store.)

***Ive also exchanged 22lbs of dry rock for more live rock. So I believe I have 72lbs of live rock and 16lbs of dry rock in the tank right now.***
(Any ideas on how to aquascape would be amazing! I have a bunch of rocks in sump I’m going to swap out, don’t know what to do)

-Tank was started with 60 gallons of RO water and 15 gallons of saltwater out the display tank of the fish store! Customer service here was beyond incredible! Even drove to my house to help make sure everything was up and running. PalmettoReef.com !! Amazing!

•Day 4 I added two clownfish and the 9lb live rock shelf

•Day 5 pH at 7.6 added the piece of 12lb Real Reef Rock to help naturally buffer. Removed lids and cracked door near tank.

•Day 8 ph had raised added clean up crew
-2 star fish
-3 turbo snails
-6 or so other snails
-10 hermits