Reef Central Online Community

Go Back   Reef Central Online Community > Special Interest Group (SIG) Forums > Nano Reefs
Blogs FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read

Notices

User Tag List

Unread 04/07/2011, 09:22 AM   #1
w2Thezoo
Registered Member

Talking My 29g DIY Nano Reef Build...

Welcome to my 29g DIY Nano Reef Build.

Over the next while I’ll be putting together a 29 gallon nano system. The plan is to put together as much as I can myself from scratch making this a true DIY system. This is my first time attempting a reef system and I thought it would be fun to share with you my successes and failures in the hopes that we can all learn something about this hobby and some cool DIY stuff along the way.

Goals of the system:

It has to work! - Pretty obvious (by work I mean sustain life)

Energy efficient - I want to keep operating costs down (and also I hug trees ) so I’m going to try and keep the number of plugs and overall wattage to a minimum. This means trying to keep things as analog as possible (by analog I mean using physics and not electricity). I’m also going to be on the lookout for new ideas and technologies (such as LED lights).

Eco friendly - When I do get to stocking the aquarium I’m going to try and keep the oceans reefs as far from my tank as possible. This means a couple things; I’m going to be vigilant about tank bread fish, I’m going to only stock with second generation coral frags, and I’m going to be making my own rock (neh sayers? to you I say neh).This might be a challenge but it’s definitely not impossible, the only problems I foresee is with invertebrates which may pose an even greater challenge.

Innovative – I’m an arts person and I love to test the boundaries.. I think someone once said, “without those who push the boundaries we would never know how far we can go”.. Or something like that (I’ll Google it later), anyway, I’m going to hopefully come up with some new ideas and put a few twists on some old ones and see how it goes.