Reef Central Online Community

Home Forum Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences View New Posts View Today's Posts

Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Search Reefkeeping ...an online magazine for marine aquarists Support our sponsors and mention Reef Central

Go Back   Reef Central Online Community > Sponsor Forums > SpectraPure
Register Blogs FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read

Notices

User Tag List

Reply
Thread Tools
Old 12/21/2016, 08:56 AM   #51
SpectraPure
RC Sponsor
 
SpectraPure's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 4,652
The pump does not make that much noise. How old is it? It may need to be replaced.

Or, you could try a pad of high-density neoprene or similar material between the bracket and the pump, without the mounting bolts.

Support at SpectraPure


__________________
Innovators in water technology.
Since 1985!
SpectraPure is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12/24/2016, 01:34 PM   #52
Rick's Reef
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 35
The pump is about 6 years old but with only about 1 month of run time. The pump itself is not loud but the vibration causes the wall or cabinet it is mounted on to vibrate.

I tried removing the bolts and letting the pump float on a rubber/cork antivibration pad but the vibration travels through the 1/4" and 3/8" tubing connections. I also tried disconnecting the pump and running 5 foot wiring and tubing connections and setting the pump on the concrete garage slab. But again, the vibration is transmitted through the tubing.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk


Rick's Reef is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12/26/2016, 07:06 PM   #53
SpectraPure
RC Sponsor
 
SpectraPure's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 4,652
Pumps are not normally that vibration-y.

I'm sorry but I have not other suggestions.

Maybe someone else does.

Support at SpectraPure


__________________
Innovators in water technology.
Since 1985!
SpectraPure is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01/28/2017, 11:59 PM   #54
mga345
Registered Member
 
mga345's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Israel
Posts: 90
A problem in my 8 year UHE system

Lately I begun to have something that never happened before:

The system works as it should (and always did for many years of work) until the time for it to stop by the upper float in my reservoir.
When it reaches this point, the pump stops but the water flow doesn't anf the pressure gauge move from 80psi to around 60psi and stays there.

This phenomena causes the continuation of the filling and eventually to flooding of the reservoir.

What to do?

(I live in Israel and as far as I know I am the only hobbyist to have this system in the country).
I need your advice to solve this problem.

Thank you,

Moshe


__________________
Moshe Gur-arie
Tank: Reef (mixed corals) Size: 80"X28"X24" (220G)
Second tank: Nano sea horses with corals (25G)
Skimmer: Orphek Helix 3000
Lights: 3 Orphek Atlantik V2.1
mga345 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01/29/2017, 12:04 AM   #55
mga345
Registered Member
 
mga345's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Israel
Posts: 90
A problem in my 8 year UHE system

Lately I begun to have something that never happened before:

The system works as it should (and always did for many years of work) until the time for it to stop by the upper float in my reservoir.
When it reaches this point, the pump stops but the water flow doesn't and the pressure gauge moves from 80psi to around 60psi and stays there.

This phenomena causes the continuation of the filling and eventually to flooding of the reservoir.

What to do?

(I live in Israel and as far as I know I am the only hobbyist to have this system in the country).
I need your advice to solve this problem.

Thank you,

Moshe


__________________
Moshe Gur-arie
Tank: Reef (mixed corals) Size: 80"X28"X24" (220G)
Second tank: Nano sea horses with corals (25G)
Skimmer: Orphek Helix 3000
Lights: 3 Orphek Atlantik V2.1
mga345 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01/30/2017, 08:25 AM   #56
SpectraPure
RC Sponsor
 
SpectraPure's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 4,652
Hello Moshe,

Will the water stop if you unplug the power transformer?

If it does, then the control module is damaged.

If not, then there's something stuck inside the input solenoid valve.

You can take it apart and inspect and clean the interior components.

You do not have to remove it from the manifold, just unscrew it.

IF you need a new valve, you can probably find a replacement in Israel.

You should also install a high-limit safety back-up float valve on the reservoir.

Scott in Support at SpectraPure


__________________
Innovators in water technology.
Since 1985!
SpectraPure is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01/30/2017, 09:18 AM   #57
mga345
Registered Member
 
mga345's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Israel
Posts: 90
Quote:
Originally Posted by SpectraPure View Post
Hello Moshe,

Will the water stop if you unplug the power transformer?

If it does, then the control module is damaged.

If not, then there's something stuck inside the input solenoid valve.

You can take it apart and inspect and clean the interior components.

You do not have to remove it from the manifold, just unscrew it.

IF you need a new valve, you can probably find a replacement in Israel.

You should also install a high-limit safety back-up float valve on the reservoir.

Scott in Support at SpectraPure
Thank you for the detailed reply.

When I unplug the power transformer the water does not stop.
It just continue while the pressure gauge shows around 60psi.
If I want to stop the water I need to shut off the water supply.

In this case, as you wrote, I will need to clean the interior components so please tell me which components and if possible a photo or draw of the part(s) to clean.

Thank you.


__________________
Moshe Gur-arie
Tank: Reef (mixed corals) Size: 80"X28"X24" (220G)
Second tank: Nano sea horses with corals (25G)
Skimmer: Orphek Helix 3000
Lights: 3 Orphek Atlantik V2.1
mga345 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01/30/2017, 11:13 AM   #58
SpectraPure
RC Sponsor
 
SpectraPure's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 4,652
Here's the valve:

http://spectrapure.com/Solenoid-Valv...ter_name=VALVE

The valve to the left of the pressure regulator is the input solenoid valve.

Un-screw the round body from the plumbed part. A spring and plunger will fall out.

Inspect the end of the plunger for smoothness and the hole in the rubber disc for obstructions.

Put it all back together and see if you've fixed it.

Scott


__________________
Innovators in water technology.
Since 1985!
SpectraPure is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05/01/2017, 12:04 AM   #59
Rick's Reef
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 35
Hi,

My UHE system doesn't seem to be flushing properly. When it comes time to flush, the waste line sounds like gurgling air and the 3/8 input from the reservoir is empty. If I reach down into the reservoir and put my finger against the 3/8 bulkhead, the suction that I feel is extremely weak.

Does the 3/8 line need to be primed? The UHE is mounted about 18-24" above the top float valve of the freshwater reservoir.

Thanks,
Rick


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk


Rick's Reef is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05/01/2017, 10:27 AM   #60
SpectraPure
RC Sponsor
 
SpectraPure's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 4,652
Does the pump still make the 100 psi on the System Pressure Gauge?

If so, then it's not the problem.

It's possible that the vacuum suction of the pump is defeating a push fitting along that 3/8" line, including the Check Valve.

Try some waterproof grease on the ends of all tubes involved. Then push and twist them back into their fittings.

Scott at SpectraPure


__________________
Innovators in water technology.
Since 1985!
SpectraPure is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05/01/2017, 11:09 PM   #61
Rick's Reef
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 35
Thanks Scott for the quick response. There was a tight bend coming out of the check valve on the 3/8 tubing. When a ran a new line with more slack everything is working as expected.

Thanks again!


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk


Rick's Reef is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03/05/2018, 06:45 AM   #62
Ted_C
Registered Member
 
Ted_C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Clearwater FL
Posts: 2,039
The unit I purchased in 2015 has developed a problem. I have emailed support (on Sunday) regarding the issue. Waiting to hear back.

As I was making a new batch of water - the one unit I have in my office started to do the following:
It sounds like it is trying to switch over from flush to water production but it got stuck. This often happens to me in the newer unit I have in the garage after running continuously and producing around 40 gallons - but powering it down and starting it back up again usually solves the issue. Not this time. I've tried everything I can think of to get the unit functioning again and nothing's working.

What happens is: the pressure across the membrane drops by 5-10 PSI (from 80 down to ~70). This is different from a flush - where the pressure drops down to 20 PSI across the membrane. The unit starts vibrating and running very rough.

I'm still producing water and I'm still producing waste during this cycle.

I have a feeling it's the electronics. I experienced some weird power issues this weekend - what I am thinking was a brownout type of situation. The garage Unit and my Office unit were both running at the same time. The garage unit is running fine. The office unit developed this weird issue.

Edit: Whatever this issue may be called - I think the unit is bypassing the RO membrane incorrectly. I just produced around 10 gallons of water in 10 minutes - which is much too fast.


__________________
150 Gal Quarantine. 310 Main Display Tank
Reefing since 2012

Last edited by Ted_C; 03/05/2018 at 07:11 AM.
Ted_C is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03/05/2018, 08:02 AM   #63
SpectraPure
RC Sponsor
 
SpectraPure's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 4,652
Please forgive me for not responding on Sunday. A Higher Authority gave me the day off. I will reply to your email soon.

Support at SpectraPure


__________________
Innovators in water technology.
Since 1985!
SpectraPure is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03/05/2018, 09:15 AM   #64
Ted_C
Registered Member
 
Ted_C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Clearwater FL
Posts: 2,039
No Worries - everyone deserves a weekend and I got no problem taking Sundays off.

For those having a similar issue - the fix for me was to remove the pre-filters - turn the system on (see if it works normally - which mine did) then re-install new filters.

In my case - my filters are pretty much brand new - only ran around 120 gallons through them (produced around 60 gallons of water total). I flipped them over in the canisters.

I've also running a modified UHE - I added an additional canister for a sediment filter and I run two carbon blocks. That could be the cause of my issue as well.


__________________
150 Gal Quarantine. 310 Main Display Tank
Reefing since 2012
Ted_C is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04/08/2018, 07:21 AM   #65
robbous
Registered Member
 
robbous's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 477
Ok here goes i bought a 2nd hand in excellent condition 100 GPD U.H.E RO/DI system my problem is this thing will not produce water for no longer then 3-4 mins then nothing.i hooked the system up and rechecked all the connections and everything is exactly how it should be including running my date line with a syphon loop to prevent back syphoning from auto flush.i have the low level float and high level float in the positions that the manual sates and what happens is the pump kicks on and goes into a automatic flush and that is all, i see the water coming out of the waste line at a pretty good rate,but once the flush stops nothing happens even with float switches in the position that manual states. if i put both float switches in wet position the produce water ( the pressure gauge on membrane shows 80psi ) and water is coming out into storage tank but once the water fills in the first water chamber ( sediment filter) and it fills to the top the unit will shut down. i need this thing to run constantly to fill a 300 gallon holding tank. what is wrong with this any help would be awesome i can not figure this out even trying to put the float switches in different positions


__________________
New Hampshire USA

Current Tank Info: 500 Gallon display tank 200 gallon basement sump
robbous is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04/09/2018, 10:24 AM   #66
SpectraPure
RC Sponsor
 
SpectraPure's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 4,652
Hello Robbous,

Can you please send us an email at [email protected]?

I have a few questions and would like to help get your systems issues resolved.


I'll keep an eye out for your email.


-Daniel


__________________
Innovators in water technology.
Since 1985!
SpectraPure is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04/20/2018, 02:04 AM   #67
robbous
Registered Member
 
robbous's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 477
Awesome filter!!! 1:1 exactly :-)


__________________
New Hampshire USA

Current Tank Info: 500 Gallon display tank 200 gallon basement sump
robbous is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04/20/2018, 09:36 AM   #68
SpectraPure
RC Sponsor
 
SpectraPure's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 4,652
Quote:
Originally Posted by robbous View Post
Awesome filter!!! 1:1 exactly :-)
Good day Robbous,

Thanks for the feedback on our system! Fantastic job with your 500G tank. Keep in touch if you ever need any assistance!

-Daniel
Technical Support


__________________
Innovators in water technology.
Since 1985!
SpectraPure is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:33 AM.


TapaTalk Enabled

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2018 Axivo Inc.
Use of this web site is subject to the terms and conditions described in the user agreement.
Reef CentralTM Reef Central, LLC. Copyright 1999-2014
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.3.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2018 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.