Reef Central Online Community

Go Back   Reef Central Online Community > General Interest Forums > New to the Hobby
Blogs FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read

Notices

User Tag List

Unread 05/12/2010, 04:02 AM   #1
djslater
Registered Member

Question Ro/di?

I'm new to the hobby, and have a few questions about RO/DI.

Is RO/DI completely necessary to keep saltwater fish?....and other saltwater life?

What if I just set up an RO system, would I be doing anything bad to the fish/life by not De-Ionizing the water?

I want to set up the system so I can take tap water from a stand alone tank, pump it into the RO/DI system with a water pump, and have the filtered water come out into another stand alone tank right next to the other one....is this at all possible?

Thanks!

djslater is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 05/12/2010, 04:46 AM   #2
troyman
Registered Member

the ro filter needs high pressure to work so that wont work for you as far as di water you can use just ro water its better than just tap but you may ecounter algae problems and other issues just using ro water

troyman is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 05/12/2010, 02:24 PM   #3
trb
Registered Member

Ditto what troyman said. Many people use only RO water, it is just that RO/DI is the best you can use. Some of my local fish stores sell just RO water, and I actually used it up until I got my own RO/DI system. When I set up my new tank with all RO/DI water, the hair algae on my rocks did not grow back. Previously in just RO water, it would grow back a couple of weeks after I cleaned it all off by scrubbing.

For me, it is RO/DI only from now on. Much less of an algae problem.

trb is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 05/12/2010, 06:27 PM   #4
djslater
Registered Member

do you need a booster pump to get the water through an RO/DI system?