Reef Central Online Community

Home Forum Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences View New Posts View Today's Posts

Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Search Reefkeeping ...an online magazine for marine aquarists Support our sponsors and mention Reef Central

Go Back   Reef Central Online Community > General Interest Forums > Lighting, Filtration & Other Equipment
Register Blogs FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read

Notices

User Tag List

Reply
Thread Tools
Old 02/20/2019, 09:35 PM   #1651
slief
RC Sponsor

 
slief's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Simi Valley, Ca
Posts: 13,874
Quote:
Originally Posted by Skeet59 View Post
So been reading through many posts and wondering if anyone out there has a Neptune PMK and been looking at numbers under there AP700. I am running 4 t5's as well. My reading on the sand bed was 225 peak. When I raised the sensor to 4 inches below waterline peak reading went to 235. That is about 12 inches of depth difference between high and low. AP700 is running at 75% peak on ocean blue 2. I don't understand if the PMK has a difficult time picking up the blue or if I am that drastically low on PAR.
Too much is made out of PAR. The Kessils are put out a near perfect spectrum so while you might read a low PAR number, the PUR that Kessils put out is far more important than raw PAR numbers and coral grows just fine under. But also consider that if you increase your intensity and also increase the shift to white for PAR number purposes, the PAR readings would go up.


__________________
Director Customer Support Royal Exclusiv USA
For All Royal Exclusiv & Bubble King questions please refer to our Sponsor forum: http://www.reefcentral.com/forums/fo...play.php?f=745

Current Tank Info: 480G display mixed reef, 90G sump, 90G refugium, 60G display refugium. Check out my build thread: http://www.reefcentral.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1783476
slief is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02/20/2019, 09:47 PM   #1652
Skeet59
Registered Member
 
Skeet59's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Colorado
Posts: 49
Ok thanks Slief, try not to think about PAR too much, its just a nagging thought sometimes.


__________________
Dylan

Current Tank Info: 125g DT, 50g sump/refug,
Skeet59 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02/21/2019, 12:47 PM   #1653
AngieRN23
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 5
Kessil AP700

Installing tonight! Looking for all the advice here I can get!


AngieRN23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03/04/2019, 04:18 AM   #1654
makers marc
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 282
Quote:
Originally Posted by kevin21 View Post
Anyone having issues with their ap700 sometimes randomly turning off for a second or randomly turning on for a second? It has happened to me a few times now. Can't be dust, as the light is literally a month old. Software problem?



Thanks!
Me


__________________
75g SPS dominant (Ca= 400ppm, Mg = 1350ppm, Kh= 8.5dkh)

2xJebao wp25/Kessil Ap700/Kalk via Tunze ATO/GFO (6 tbsps every 2 wks); Carbon (6 tbsps per month)
makers marc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03/04/2019, 04:41 AM   #1655
markster33139
Registered Member
 
markster33139's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Miami, FL
Posts: 340
Contact Kessil about their latest software update not sure if it's out yet. I tested it out last year, and my light has been flawless since.

Sent from my ONEPLUS A5000 using Tapatalk


__________________
Creating the island life
markster33139 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04/30/2019, 04:32 PM   #1656
raylinds
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 34
I got the AP700 for my 48"x18"x30" 110G tank. I think it will give sufficient coverage as I am not really into SPS. I might get one or two but can always have these higher up and towards the center of the tank.

My setup is not built yet, but I was playing around with the light and am very impressed so far with the programmability, effects and color control. I am returning after a 20 year hiatus and previously used MH lighting, so really like the Kissell shimmer.


raylinds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04/30/2019, 04:36 PM   #1657
raylinds
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by raylinds View Post
I got the AP700 for my 48"x18"x30" 110G tank. I think it will give sufficient coverage as I am not really into SPS. I might get one or two but can always have these higher up and towards the center of the tank.

My setup is not built yet, but I was playing around with the light and am very impressed so far with the programmability, effects and color control. I am returning after a 20 year hiatus and previously used MH lighting, so really like the Kissell shimmer.
Make that Kessil shimmer


raylinds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05/03/2019, 12:39 AM   #1658
dingodan87
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 306
My phone broke so i got a new one. Downloaded the app and cannot link it to my kessil ap700. It just doesnt see it. I try to backup schedule from cloud but theres nothing there. How can i link it and get my lighting schedule? Im worried to "add lamp" because i dont want it to reset the light and lose my schedule. Anyone know what i should do?

Sent from my CLT-L04 using Tapatalk


dingodan87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05/03/2019, 01:33 AM   #1659
minus9
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: I'm in the Valley, Dude!
Posts: 950
Did you ever sign into the app and back up your schedule before you lost your phone? If so, then you can sign in again and pull it down from the cloud. If the backup exists in the cloud, then you should relink the light, as if you were setting it up for the first time and load the schedule. In theory, you should be able to reset the lights and load a saved schedule/program.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk


minus9 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05/05/2019, 04:30 PM   #1660
dingodan87
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 306
Quote:
Originally Posted by minus9 View Post
Did you ever sign into the app and back up your schedule before you lost your phone? If so, then you can sign in again and pull it down from the cloud. If the backup exists in the cloud, then you should relink the light, as if you were setting it up for the first time and load the schedule. In theory, you should be able to reset the lights and load a saved schedule/program.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
No i didnt

Sent from my CLT-L04 using Tapatalk


dingodan87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06/19/2019, 11:31 PM   #1661
makers marc
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 282
Does anyone run a succesful Acropora tank, using the AP700s only?

Can't seem to find anyone to speak up. And I hope someone does.

If you do, please show pics of your setup, mount height, and light schedule.


Pllleeeaasse! Before I force myself to buy t5s to supplement.


__________________
75g SPS dominant (Ca= 400ppm, Mg = 1350ppm, Kh= 8.5dkh)

2xJebao wp25/Kessil Ap700/Kalk via Tunze ATO/GFO (6 tbsps every 2 wks); Carbon (6 tbsps per month)
makers marc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06/22/2019, 02:47 PM   #1662
makers marc
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 282
Bueller?


__________________
75g SPS dominant (Ca= 400ppm, Mg = 1350ppm, Kh= 8.5dkh)

2xJebao wp25/Kessil Ap700/Kalk via Tunze ATO/GFO (6 tbsps every 2 wks); Carbon (6 tbsps per month)
makers marc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06/28/2019, 01:00 PM   #1663
makers marc
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 282
Dang. Guess everyone sold theirs or added t5s.

My going theory here is that in order to get sufficient (overall light) for acros, the AP700 needs to be placed 5-7 inches from water line as Kessil instructs. And if you want to go by par charts published by BRS and Dana Riddle, you can argue the unit must max at 100%.

BUTT!!! A big BUTT......

At these levels and height, the AP700 will fry all corals if placed anywhere between both pucks. Regardless of how low the par measures(<150) at that spot.

Solution: You must raise the fixture/turn down max% to a level where the fixture alone is insufficient for sps. So ppl end up adding a less harsh T5.


__________________
75g SPS dominant (Ca= 400ppm, Mg = 1350ppm, Kh= 8.5dkh)

2xJebao wp25/Kessil Ap700/Kalk via Tunze ATO/GFO (6 tbsps every 2 wks); Carbon (6 tbsps per month)
makers marc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06/28/2019, 03:24 PM   #1664
dimasv
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Brampton ON Canada
Posts: 71
Quote:
Originally Posted by makers marc View Post
Does anyone run a succesful Acropora tank, using the AP700s only?

Can't seem to find anyone to speak up. And I hope someone does.

If you do, please show pics of your setup, mount height, and light schedule.


Pllleeeaasse! Before I force myself to buy t5s to supplement.

Buy T5s, thats what I did. Had two ap700 on my 180 gal, running calcium reactor did not help. SPS are not happy, but monties. After a year one ap700 just died, no good resolution provided by Kessil team but to buy a new lamp from them again with discount. Was very disappointed, decided to go with t5s and the left workable ap700. Would never buy kessil brand again. Sorry kessil but simply cant afford buying 1k lamp every year.


__________________
180gal starphire reef build
http://www.reefcentral.com/forums/showthread.php?p=25040952
dimasv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07/14/2019, 11:07 PM   #1665
LStorm
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 90
Open to advice. I have sps dominant 48x24x24 tank. Large sps colonies with shading issues.

Looking to add Aquatic life t5 fixture (4 x54w bulb) and perhaps three Kessil a360x.

Enough for sps tank?


__________________
Lars
120 gal SPS; Radion G3 pro; MP40's; Apex Fusion

60 gal 24"x24" cube - Montipora garden
Ecoxotic Panorama Pro 24 inch fixture, Tunze 6095, BRS dosers, bio pellets, Apex.

Current Tank Info: 60 gal Montipora garden, build in progress
LStorm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07/14/2019, 11:37 PM   #1666
minus9
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: I'm in the Valley, Dude!
Posts: 950
Quote:
Originally Posted by LStorm View Post
Open to advice. I have sps dominant 48x24x24 tank. Large sps colonies with shading issues.



Looking to add Aquatic life t5 fixture (4 x54w bulb) and perhaps three Kessil a360x.



Enough for sps tank?


What do you currently have for lights?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk


minus9 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07/15/2019, 01:33 PM   #1667
LStorm
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 90
Currently run two Radion g3 pro on AB+ setting. Having issues with them. Thinking about replacing them.


__________________
Lars
120 gal SPS; Radion G3 pro; MP40's; Apex Fusion

60 gal 24"x24" cube - Montipora garden
Ecoxotic Panorama Pro 24 inch fixture, Tunze 6095, BRS dosers, bio pellets, Apex.

Current Tank Info: 60 gal Montipora garden, build in progress
LStorm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07/16/2019, 09:13 AM   #1668
dimasv
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Brampton ON Canada
Posts: 71
Quote:
Originally Posted by LStorm View Post
Open to advice. I have sps dominant 48x24x24 tank. Large sps colonies with shading issues.

Looking to add Aquatic life t5 fixture (4 x54w bulb) and perhaps three Kessil a360x.

Enough for sps tank?
I had 2 ap700, one burned, now installed 4x80 Aquatics life. with one ap700. U will never regret it and your corals too. T5s all the way


__________________
180gal starphire reef build
http://www.reefcentral.com/forums/showthread.php?p=25040952
dimasv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10/11/2019, 02:11 AM   #1669
dnguyen1
Will work for fish
 
dnguyen1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 888
Has this happened to anybody here? reflector melt or salt creep?


Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG_9554.jpg (78.3 KB, 22 views)
__________________
Trying to keep the tank clean ONE DAY AT A TIME.

Current Tank Info: 50g cube
dnguyen1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10/14/2019, 10:13 PM   #1670
Merv 49
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Salty150 View Post
How many AP 700 fixtures is everyone using on their 72" tanks?

According to Kessil:

Single AP700 Maximum Coverage:

36"x 24" at 7" above water level
48" x 24" at 18" above water level

So you would only need 2 for a typical 72" tank?
I use three on my 6ft tank. To many dark spots otherwise. My aquascape does affect my decision.


Merv 49 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:41 AM.


TapaTalk Enabled

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2019 Axivo Inc.
Use of this web site is subject to the terms and conditions described in the user agreement.
Reef CentralTM Reef Central, LLC. Copyright 1999-2014
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.3.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.