Reef Central Online Community

Go Back   Reef Central Online Community > More Forums > Reef Club Forums > SouthWest Region-Reef Club Forums > Arizona-Sierra Vista/Tucson Reef Keepers
Blogs FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read

Notices

User Tag List

Unread 07/30/2014, 07:11 PM   #1
hellfish01
Registered Member

help anyone? Newbie looking for supplies.

Hi everyone,
First thank you for looking.

Im completely new to saltwater aquariums and im hopping to have a healthy and great looking aquarium. Ive been in the freshwater planted aquarium hobby for some years so Im familiar with the basics. (Regular maintenance, proper equipmeCurrent nova T5 high output, fixture and a rena ng, research, research and more research.)

Im thinking of converting my 45corner from planted freshwater to coral saltwater and need help.
Im planning (money be willing) to start tearing down the tank in a month or so and would like anyone kind enough to donate or sell any extra equipment you know ill need to get things started. Advince and personal stories would also be greatly appreciated. At the moment I have a Current nova T5 high output fixture and a rena filstar xp3 canister filter with my tank.
So what do I need?
What can you sell or donate?
What advice can you give me?

Thank you again for reading.

hellfish01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07/30/2014, 07:33 PM   #2
aquaph8
Love The Fish

Hello and welcome to the Tucson forum! My first set of advice would be to decide where you plan on going with your tank, i.e. soft corals, large polyp stonies or small polyp stonies. While I don't reccomend someone start with SPS corals I do think that its easier to plan for the future then have to buy everything twice. Somethings are easily upgradable and somethings are a little tougher.