Reef Central Online Community

Go Back   Reef Central Online Community > General Interest Forums > New to the Hobby
Blogs FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read

Notices

User Tag List

Unread 01/12/2016, 03:52 PM   #1
DemonicReefer
Registered Member

90 gallon plumbing with no valves loud. Need some Suggestions

Ok I'll start by telling you what I have. 90 gallon reef ready tank. Emerald 34 trigger sump. Rodi 3500 dc pump and a standard overflow kit. 1 1/4 drain and 3/4" return. This is my first time running a saltwater tank with a sump I decided against putting and valves in my plumbing. And I had to put a 90" at the bottom of the drain into the sump even though I wanted a 45. Once it got running I found it to be very loud where the drain enters the sump I notice the water almost cavitating inside the hose at the 90 and the water in the overflow go up and down a bit. Not sure if I put a 45 where the 90 is if that would help or do I need a valve... Or to plumb into the second drain of the sump so it flows better and not backing up at the 90 any suggestions would be much appreciated. Thanks

Attached Images
File Type: jpg image.jpg (47.7 KB, 45 views)
DemonicReefer is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 01/12/2016, 04:12 PM   #2
heathlindner25
Moved On

I would remove the 90 and try to plumb directly to the sump without it.... I would also remove the metal fastener you have attached to the return pump and replace it with some zip ties

heathlindner25 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 01/12/2016, 04:38 PM   #3
DemonicReefer
Registered Member

Thanks for the advice I will definitely remove those from the return pump. And not sure how I would plumb it directly in with out a 45 or 90 that hose is so stiff it would just kink I think. And to put a 45 and a barb on the sump than the hose would kink up top...

DemonicReefer is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 01/12/2016, 04:49 PM   #4
heathlindner25
Moved On