Reef Central Online Community

Go Back   Reef Central Online Community > General Interest Forums > Lighting, Filtration & Other Equipment
Blogs FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read

Notices

User Tag List

Unread 02/23/2018, 12:39 AM   #1
BClute
Registered Member

T5 Ballast Question

If a t5 ballast is marked as 24 watts or 36,48 or whatever does that mean it can run up to a bulb of that wattage or will it only run that specific wattage. Like can a 24 watt ballast run a 18 watt light? I'm looking for a 18watt t5 retro kit but having trouble finding one, but have no issue finding 24watts and above. Also, if I'm going to piece together a t5 setup what would I need? Ballast, wires, end caps, and a bulb? I'm planning on running one T5 as supplemental light in addition to the LEDs I already have. I've never used t5s before. TIA!

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

BClute is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 02/23/2018, 06:27 AM   #2
alton
Registered Member

18 watts is an odd ball size, lamps are hard to come by. And ballast has to match lamp size and number example; 2 - 24 watt or 1 - 54 watt lamp

alton is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 02/23/2018, 06:41 AM   #3
RobZilla04
Registered Member

What size tank? This will help because the 24w is designed for a 2ft long, 39w for 3ft, and 54w for 4ft.

Here is an example of a kit: https://www.bulkreefsupply.com/t5-ho...-lighting.html

Unread 02/23/2018, 07:09 AM   #4
mcgyvr
Registered Member

yeah why 18W?
Where are you finding an 18W bulb with a decent reef spectrum?

as stated you need an 18W ballast.. but why not 24W (2ft)?

Unread 02/23/2018, 01:36 PM   #5
BClute
Registered Member

T5 Ballast Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by mcgyvr View Post
yeah why 18W?
Where are you finding an 18W bulb with a decent reef spectrum?

as stated you need an 18W ballast.. but why not 24W (2ft)?