Reef Central Online Community
Marine Depot

Home Forum Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences View New Posts View Today's Posts

Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Search Reefkeeping ...an online magazine for marine aquarists Support our sponsors and mention Reef Central

Go Back   Reef Central Online Community > Sponsor Forums > Neptune Systems
Register Blogs FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read

Notices

User Tag List

Reply
Thread Tools
Old 01/14/2019, 04:47 AM   #1
webdiddy
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 1
Question Apex vs Vectra, any development?

Hi guys!

I recently bought a second hand Apex classic with lots of modules and I'm loving it, one of my favorite features is the "one click" feed modes.
My return pump is currently a Jebao 8000, and since it does not keep head pressure in feed mode I'm about one inch from overflowing my sump in feed mode.

A couple of days ago I got a great deal for a Vectra L1, having the VXM module I was thinking I was golden. I have since understod that this is not the case as they are not compatible with each other.

Anyway, it has been a couple of years since the controversy started and I wanted to ask if the have been any third party development to make the two units play nice together? Or is there some kind of hack?

If not I'm guessing I just have to start my feed mode by pressing first the vectra controller for 3 seconds then set the apex in feed mode.


webdiddy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01/17/2019, 05:41 PM   #2
ohashimz
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 180
Following to see feedbacks


ohashimz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01/17/2019, 11:31 PM   #3
slief
RC Sponsor

 
slief's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Simi Valley, Ca
Posts: 13,824
Quote:
Originally Posted by ohashimz View Post
Following to see feedbacks
There is nothing to follow. The Vectra and Apex are not compatible in terms of being able to be controlled by the Apex (or any other 3rd party controller) and it’s more than likely never going change. If you need to put a Vectra into feed mode, you need to use the Ecotech controller to do so.


__________________
Director Customer Support Royal Exclusiv USA
For All Royal Exclusiv & Bubble King questions please refer to our Sponsor forum: http://www.reefcentral.com/forums/fo...play.php?f=745

Current Tank Info: 480G display mixed reef, 90G sump, 90G refugium, 60G display refugium. Check out my build thread: http://www.reefcentral.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1783476
slief is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01/18/2019, 02:55 PM   #4
Alma Knack
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Los Altos, CA
Posts: 33
My Apex fusion “A” activates my Vectra feed mode. I hope this helps.
Paul
http://www.reefcentral.com/forums/sh....php?t=2668843


Alma Knack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01/18/2019, 03:09 PM   #5
slief
RC Sponsor

 
slief's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Simi Valley, Ca
Posts: 13,824
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alma Knack View Post
My Apex fusion A activates my Vectra feed mode. I hope this helps.
Paul
http://www.reefcentral.com/forums/sh....php?t=2668843
Im not going to lie.. That was brilliant! You win the award for thinking outside the box and figuring a work around for the Apex to control the Vectra!


__________________
Director Customer Support Royal Exclusiv USA
For All Royal Exclusiv & Bubble King questions please refer to our Sponsor forum: http://www.reefcentral.com/forums/fo...play.php?f=745

Current Tank Info: 480G display mixed reef, 90G sump, 90G refugium, 60G display refugium. Check out my build thread: http://www.reefcentral.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1783476
slief is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01/18/2019, 03:13 PM   #6
ohashimz
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 180
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alma Knack View Post
My Apex fusion A activates my Vectra feed mode. I hope this helps.
Paul
http://www.reefcentral.com/forums/sh....php?t=2668843
Lol thos is brilliant...kudos

Sent from my SM-G960U using Tapatalk


ohashimz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02/08/2019, 08:22 PM   #7
Sisterlimonpot
R.C. Fraternity President
 
Sisterlimonpot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Litchfeild Park AZ
Posts: 11,443
Blog Entries: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alma Knack View Post
My Apex fusion A activates my Vectra feed mode. I hope this helps.
Paul
http://www.reefcentral.com/forums/sh....php?t=2668843
That's definitely a unique way to mechanically correct a software problem.

My solution requires you to have a battery backup. What you do is have the Vectra power supply plugged directly into a controllable outlet of the Apex. When feed mode is hit the outlet is turned off and the Vectra goes into battery backup, to where I programmed the flow to only hold the head pressure.


__________________
Jimmy
MASVC President

Dishes are done man!

Current Tank Info: 300 in progress
Sisterlimonpot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02/08/2019, 10:25 PM   #8
Alma Knack
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Los Altos, CA
Posts: 33
Jimmy,
I thought of turning off an outlet and thus the pump using my apex, however, I was concerned the frequent offs and ons could damage the pump or controller
Paul


Alma Knack is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:27 AM.


TapaTalk Enabled

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2019 Axivo Inc.
Use of this web site is subject to the terms and conditions described in the user agreement.
Reef CentralTM Reef Central, LLC. Copyright 1999-2014
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.3.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.