Reef Central Online Community

Go Back   Reef Central Online Community > General Interest Forums > New to the Hobby
Blogs FAQ Calendar

Notices

User Tag List

Unread 12/18/2014, 07:07 PM   #1
Hotwired
Registered Member

New to Hobby need a little guidance please

Hello everyone.

I am new to the hobby and my family and I are wanting something unique (in my eyes anyway). So this is my idea....

I am hopefully getting a 300g acrylic tank soon and want to section the tank off to roughly 150g each side. The reason for doing this is one side would be for my wife's reef/non aggressive fish breeds. I on the other hand would like some aggressive/predator fish.

With this tank being sectioned would I run the risk of the predator fish injuring themselves on the partition trying to get the non aggressive fish?

Would the non aggressive fish be stressed all the time possible running the risk of becoming ill or even die?

Could I run both setups on the same equipment even though the tank would be partioned?

Equipment..

I do not have Radion money so I was thinking of running a t5/led combo for the lighting. The t5 for coral growth and the lower end leds for more aesthetic reasons.

What would be a good skimmer for a 300g tank? Could swing good not great quality as with the majority of things you get what you pay for (warranty is a good thing)...

I saw a few videos on the Maxspect gyre and was impressed with what I saw. However because the tank would be sectioned perhaps something like Eco-Drift 8.0 for each tank be a better buy.

RO/DI... I have been on the fence as to what i really need in a ro/di system. I am on a well and because of this I really dont know if I need something like a 6 stage system. My wife also would like to use it to hook up to the Fridge for drinking water.

Most of the equipment would be located in the basement which is aprox 12-15 feet below where the tank would be located. What pumps would you recommend because of the length?