Reef Central Online Community

Go Back   Reef Central Online Community > General Interest Forums > Reef Discussion
Blogs FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read

Notices

User Tag List

Unread 04/18/2018, 03:27 PM   #1
Rodeo_Roger
Registered Member

Help! Please! Cyano/dinos??

So I have this issue I have been battling for several months now and can't seem to win. Can't tell if its cyanobacteria or dinoflagellates. Sand is brown like dinos or diatoms but deeper in the sand and on the rocks is red like cyano. Every time I perform a red slime remover treatment it goes away and is all clear for a few weeks or so and starts coming back. After the recommended dosage and a couple days of battling my angry skimmer, I perform recommended dosing of FritzZyme460 as someone told me that they won their battle with the combo.
Tank info.
300 gal
35ppt salinity Fritz RPM salt
8.3 pH
420 calcium
8.8 dKH
0 phos with Hanna ULR
0 Nitrate
Running Carbon and GFO in reactors
Dosing Kalkwasser as top off water as a mixture of 30gal di water/36 tsp kalk/375ml vinegar to add carbon source and break down the kalk more which would be about 35ml of vinegar being added to the tank daily.
Pictures are of it now just starting to come back. I have had enough and never had this issue in the past.

Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG_0086.jpg (65.2 KB, 73 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_0087.jpg (62.6 KB, 62 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_0088.jpg (71.3 KB, 60 views)

Last edited by Rodeo_Roger; 04/18/2018 at 03:54 PM. Reason: added info
Rodeo_Roger is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 04/18/2018, 03:55 PM   #2
AlSimmons
Registered Member

Check this out.

https://www.reefcleaners.org/nuisance-algae-id-guide

HTH.

AlSimmons is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 04/18/2018, 04:02 PM   #3
ramseynb
Registered Member

It might be the vinegar. It doesn't look like cyano or dinos to me but it might be some sort of bacteria that's being fed by the carbon source.

Ten tickles!
ramseynb is offline   Reply With Quote